In the Wilds : : Hiking on the John Muir Trail

Hello! Hello! I hope you’re having a fine and beautiful August so far! Last week I returned from a big adventure—my husband and I went on a 10-day backpacking trip in the southern Sierra Nevada (in California). We hiked a section of the John Muir Trail (starting in over Kearsarge Pass and out over Piute Pass for those of you interested in the specifics).

It was everything I hoped for in the adventure: magnificently epic scenery, and plenty of mental and physical challenge as we hiked over 6 passes and spent much of the trip above treeline.

I took my Holga camera loaded with color film and just barely captured the technicolor blue of some of the lake-mountain vistas we saw. Here are a few of my favorite pictures from the trip. My most favorite photo I took is the one of my husband with his hiking hat and red kerchief (second to last below), and then there I am in the last photo with my hiking “bonnet” (found at the thrift store for $4 before our trip). Enjoy!

glen_pass_view1

glen_pass_view2_rae_lakes

glen_pass_view3

evolution_basin2

evolution_basin1

mike_evolution_basin

me_evolution_basin


Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


