Sky Poems : : An Introduction

skypoem00

Hello! Hello! It’s been a long while since I’ve written here! I’ve been taking some time to be quiet and think about things. While I’ve been away though, I’ve been doing some writing. Little poems mainly. This is something that I used to do a lot but had stepped away from while focusing on visual art (although my visual art has often included bits of writing). I’ve stepped back to pure poetry though because it’s something I love and would like to do over time.

As I’ve always found, whatever creative process I’m doing directly reflects what I’m thinking about in my life at the time. And for me right now, that means thinking about the big questions—things like “what am I doing here?” and “what does it mean to me to live a good life?” and “why am I so often struggling against myself?” and “how can I live in a peaceful way?” As I’ve been opening back up to writing poetry, out of the air have come thoughts on these questions, and I’ve been writing down what I hear.

For a while I’ve been trying to understand what I want to do with these little poems, how/if I want to share them. And then today, I was walking along under a wide sky with epic clouds, and it occurred to me: the urge to write these poems comes from the same place as my urge to photograph the sky and the clouds (something you may have seen here before). When I look up into the clouds, I am knocked over by their infinite, wild stirrings, and I am looking to understand something that big about life. And so I thought, “hey, wouldn’t it be fun to start sharing some of these poems on my blog along with photos of the sky? It would be double the fun for me, and maybe I could point to something big for someone else.” And so I’ve decided to start a new little blog series called Sky Poems. I’m thinking it will be a weekly post, but it could end up being more sporadic than that. The one thing I promise is that every time I do post, it will be a piece of my heart.

You are very welcome to share these posts and poems—in fact I would be delighted if you did—just kindly do credit me and link back to my blog.

Lastly, I wanted to let you know something that I’ve decided to change: these new posts will be closed to comments. I am doing this not because I want to discourage conversation, but because comments (or lack of comments) have always messed with my head, and I just want to share these posts for anyone who wants to read them, without any pressure for anyone to feel like they have to say anything and without adding the “worthiness of post = number of comments” dimension for myself. I hope you’ll kindly understand. You are always welcome to email me directly if you have a question at nkdocimo (AT) gmail (DOT) com. Enjoy!

See all sky poems posts here.




Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


