Giving Thanks for Another Year of Wild Life

aug_2011_clouds

Hello! Hello! It’s been a while since I last posted! Over two months, which goes down in my record book as the longest I’ve ever been away from this blog since I started it back some years ago.

I’ve been taking some time to contemplate life quietly away from the internets. But today, walking home from the store (bottle of champagne in my bag), on this last day of 2012, I started thinking about all of the things I have to be thankful for from this year. And then I wanted to come and share them with you to say my thanks out into the universe and maybe spark some thankful reflections for whoever might drop by. So, here it goes . . .

~

I am thankful for another year of being alive. I do not say this lightly because more and more I am always thinking about how miraculous it is to keep breathing and keep waking up to the fact of my life. Here I am right now. Life keeps moving on.

I am thankful for my crazy, passionate, full-of-life family. Sometimes they drive me nuts, and I am thankful for that because it means that we love each other enough to keep showing up in each other’s lives and giving what we have to give, as best we can.

I am thankful for the 6+ years of dog-love my husband and I shared with our pup Lance. He died quite suddenly in October of a heart problem, and every day I am thankful to have shared my life with such a happy-go-lucky beast. Last spring when I was feeling so confused about my life, I took many long walks in the sun with him. At the time I didn’t know he wouldn’t make it to another spring. I am so thankful for that time.

I am thankful to live in a beautiful natural area. Every day I walk out into the big wide open space behind my house full of birds and plants and dogs, and sometimes even cows, and I am pulled out of my small self and reminded I’m a part of this larger world. In the winter, an enormous flock of geese takes up residence on the little lake nearby, and I love hearing their squawking and watching them come swooping in for a water landing in a big flutter.

I am thankful for the public library. It has been another year of my typical wide dabbling. I have surely checked out more than 100 books over the course of the year on topics as varied as cheesemaking, buddhism, hiking, poetry, the history of books and German language. Thank you public library for making my wide, whimsical interests and research possible FOR FREE!

I am thankful for cooking and baking and, of course eating. It’s never truly a bad day when there’s the chance to bake some chocolate chip cookies, eating cookie dough all the while, and then enjoy a warm cookie (or two) after dinner. And of course, the fact that I get to cook and eat dinner every day is what reminds me that everything is going to be OK.

I am thankful for art. It truly never goes away – even when I’m doubting the creative process and confused about where I’m going with my creative pursuits. All I have to do is stop and open a space for it, and the creative mojo comes flowing back in.

I am thankful for finding a way through the confusion about my life path that began last January. Through this confusion, I have been learning the lessons I have needed to learn for a long time. Lessons that I can feel opening me up to a wide, deep understanding that will inform the rest of my life.

I am thankful for the great possibilities of another year out in front of me. Who knows what will happen, and that is a beautiful thing.

Happy, Happy New Year to you!

4 Responses to “Giving Thanks for Another Year of Wild Life”


  1. 1 Cheryl January 1, 2013 at 10:36 am

    So lovely to hear your voice, again.

  2. 2 rachel awes January 1, 2013 at 4:23 pm

    happy new year.
    thankful for you xox

  3. 3 erica1osage January 4, 2013 at 2:29 pm

    Thanks for posting this Nicole, it’s so nice to see you back on the blog, if briefly (no pressure :)

    I am thankful for public libraries too, and for the amazing place you live in, which I hope to come visit soon! In fact, today I visited the downtown branch of the Free Library of Philadelphia and checked out two guide books to Boulder, CO!!

  4. 4 Arlete January 5, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    I am thankful your blog has returned, I’ve missed it. I’m also thankful for “being alive” but especially for Dick being alive. ~Arlete


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


