My Stomping Ground

I’ve broken out my old Holga camera these days and have been wandering around in the wild beautiful places near where I live.

I took my first roll of film right in my backyard, quite literally—these are the views of the natural space right by my house, where I take my dog walking in the mornings and afternoons. I walk out my door and across the parking lot and street, and this is where I am.

It takes my breath away regularly. I love the expanses of wild grasses and the light glowing across the fields and mountains in the morning and evening. I took these pictures one morning in June.

I’ve been spending my summer weekends wandering the high mountains near here and have taken two other (black & white) rolls of film up there. I’m hoping to get to a darkroom soon and print some up and share them with you. It is so phenomenally beautiful up there, and I have been loving nothing better than to spend days walking and looking. There’s something so basic about it, and the landscape above tree-line is one of my favorites—it’s so open and sparse; just rocks and tiny plants right up against the sky.

I hope you’ve been finding some time to spend somewhere beautiful! Happy wonder-filled day!

6 Responses to “My Stomping Ground”


  1. 2 Cheryl July 26, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    Beautiful! I especially love the mountains!

  2. 3 erica1osage July 27, 2012 at 2:54 am

    I’m so happy to see pics from you, we haven’t seen much of your new home yet! We just moved to a new house in the same neighborhood and I found my Holga and film that I got for my birthday almost four years ago and have not used a single time yet :( You should come visit me in Philly and do a tutorial!

  3. 4 songs of light August 9, 2012 at 3:25 am

    Wow I can’t believe all this is just on your doorstep! So happy you have wild places to wander in x

  4. 5 Jon @ Garden Furniture Centre September 5, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    Hi Nicole – just happened across your great images; lovely part of the world to explore. Love the monochrome images here as well https://bluebicicletta.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/walking-in-the-mountains/

    How’s the cycling territory there – is there a blue bike?


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


