What You Really Want

What you really want is
not the big-time job
not the overflowing bank account
not the perfect and loving partner,
not even the trip to Paris.

What you really want is
to wake up every day
and feel like light itself,
and then to go about your day
beaming.

Do not worry if this sounds
too transcendent.
In fact it is the humblest practice;
to sit in the day breathing,
simply being the animal that you are.

{I scribbled these words in my sketchbook some weeks ago and just re-discovered them. I wanted to share them here because they’re something I think about a lot and thought you might too}

11 Responses to “What You Really Want”


  1. 1 Jessica @ The Paper Plume July 5, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    I love that. It’s beautiful!

  2. 2 kboehnlein July 5, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    Beautiful! The last lines, especially, remind me of Mary Oliver’s “Wild Geese.”

  3. 4 thoughtsontheatre July 6, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    This is a beautiful post. Such truth.

  4. 6 Kiya Krier - Runs With Blisters July 9, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    So true. Forget the money, I just want to be happy. Although I sometimes wonder if the creative life will bring that to me…

  5. 7 songs of light July 9, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    Nicole this is pure genius! EXACTLY what I need today. Thank you xx

  6. 8 Cheryl July 22, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    Nicole, I just wanted to let you know that I’m nominating your blog for the One Lovely Blog Award. Should you choose to accept (and I completely understand if you don’t), the process for accepting can be found at http://wp.me/p1kaAD-7U I hope you’re having a tender and lovely summer.

  7. 9 Laura November 8, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    Perfectly put. Thank you for brightening my day.

  8. 10 Anu December 30, 2012 at 9:41 am

    This really hit me…especially since I’ve been dreaming about a trip to Paris :)

  9. 11 laurenjonesrabbitt March 9, 2013 at 5:36 am

    Really like this. Reminds me of Mary Oliver.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


