You are Alive : : My New Book!

Happy New Year! I had a great holiday visiting with my family and I hope you did too! I took last week to quietly recalibrate, and now I’m back and moving and shaking.

And now: I have BIG NEWS! I’ve had a new book in the works for quite some time—I spent the fall writing and printing and bringing together many ideas I’ve had for a long while to create a little book full of my heart, thoughts and inspiration.
And now . . . drum roll please . . . IT’S FINISHED!

The Book is called You are Alive, and it is a singing little book about the experience of being a human in this world. In this book, I thought and wrote about the wonder of being alive and also the challenges—how it is completely amazing that we are here breathing, but also how often we/I forget this. The words are airy on the page, giving you space to think, and they’re also accompanied by a collection of wild collagraph prints that I made especially for this book. {collagraphs printing is a printmaking process where the artist hand-makes the printing block by collaging materials onto a solid grounding and then prints the collage. I made these collagraphs with card stock on matboard and then printed with black ink on paper}.

I have just listed my book for sale in my shop! Find it here in the book section.

And here’s a little sneak peek:

***CLICK HERE >> Read the beginning of You are Alive

And some snapshots:

I am so excited to share this book! The process of making it is something I will never forget—thinking about the ideas through the concrete process of writing really changed me. I will always remember one particular walk I took in the middle of writing when something so deep shifted in me as I thought about what I wanted to say. It was one of the ost expansive moments of my life so far. So, I say thank you book, thank you art, and thank YOU for looking at this new work of mine!

9 Responses to “You are Alive : : My New Book!”


  1. 1 rachel awes January 9, 2012 at 4:27 pm

    happy new year!
    your book is gorgeous.
    sending love to the two halves of you.
    to your whole. magnificent. being. xox

  2. 2 Malea January 9, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    It looks fantastic, Nicole! Good job!

  3. 3 Peach Farm Studio January 9, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    Congratulations on the beautiful book!

  4. 4 Erica January 11, 2012 at 3:43 am

    Wow, Nicole. Congratulations on this amazing effort and the incredible result. I can’t wait to read more. Thank you for being so open and honest with the world and voicing feelings that so many of us have. It’s nice to feel company in the everyday fear of our lives. And the joy!

  5. 5 Kerri January 21, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    So fantastic! I am so excited to have a copy of such a wonderous work of art! Thank you Nicole!

  6. 6 Jaky Astik February 29, 2012 at 10:06 am

    Nicole, you’re AWESOME. just so AWESOME. No words to say!

  7. 8 Charmaine.Watkiss March 6, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    Your book looks lovely! Great work : )


  1. 1 You Are Alive : : Video Story Time! « blue bicicletta Trackback on February 28, 2012 at 10:01 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


