Rereading Frost, a poem by Linda Pastan (why you should do what you love, even if it seems like you’ll never be any good)

I’ve fallen deep back in with poetry recently: reading it, writing it, reading about it, thinking about it. There is a great bookstore in my new town (Boulder, CO) that sells only poetry books. It makes my heart warm to just know that it exists, and it is named Innisfree after a poem I love.

My husband gave me a gift certificate to Innisfree for our anniversary, and I found a great book of poetry there by Linda Pastan, and very quickly fell in love with her work. One particular poem spoke very directly to what I’m living right now, and I wanted to share it with you. It applies well beyond poetry to anything you ever might want to do but feel dwarfed by the geniuses that have already done it so well. It is especially encouraging to read such a beautiful poem about this topic because it means that even the Greats have these feelings. Enjoy!

Rereading Frost
by Linda Pastan

Sometimes I think all the best poems
have been written already,
and no one has time to read them,
so why try to write more?

At other times though,
I remember how one flower
in a meadow already full of flowers
somehow adds to the general fireworks effect

as you get to the top of a hill
in Colorado, say, in high summer
and just look down at all that brimming color.
I also try to convince myself

that the smallest note of the smallest
instrument in the band,
the triangle for instance,
is important to the conductor

who stands there, pointing his finger
in the direction of the percussions,
demanding that one silvery ping.
And I decide not to stop trying,

at least not for a while, though in truth
I’d rather just sit here reading
how someone else has been acquainted
with the night already, and perfectly.

2 Responses to “Rereading Frost, a poem by Linda Pastan (why you should do what you love, even if it seems like you’ll never be any good)”


  1. 1 Kerri October 1, 2011 at 2:22 am

    Needed this! Thank you x

  2. 2 Geoff M. Pope (@GeoffMPope) October 6, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Sharing this transparent poem and simple wisdom…


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


