New Art Inspired by the Mountains

You may have noticed that I’ve been taking an unofficial break from regular blogging. It’s just one of those times for me when I need to ponder what I’m doing. Luckily, this slowdown in blogging has not meant a slowdown in art making! I’ve been drawing and drawing and drawing some more as I’ve been working on some different illustration projects, and I’ve been doing some painting too . . .

I was playing around with some triangles and watercolors one day, and I stumbled upon a mountainesque scene. As often happens, I had no intention to draw mountains and lakes, but then they happened. It is not completely surprising—I’ve been on some amazing mountain hikes lately and I was very happy to find this nature scene on my paper.

“Long Lake,” 5 x 7 inches, pen and watercolor, prints available in my shop

My husband and I went for an overnight backpacking trip up into the high mountains last weekend and we camped just next to a beautiful mountain lake with a cirque of mountains just beyond. It was spectacular! Once I found the first mountain painting/drawing, I knew I had to make a Cirque, and so it is:

“Cirque,” 5 x 7 inches, pen and watercolor, prints available in my shop

I have a deep love for water, and a special fondness for wild mountain lakes. I love to sit on a sunny rock and watch the water glistening and listen to the wind blowing. This Big Lake below is one from my dreams—I would like to find a perch nearby and watch the shifting waters.

“The Big Lake,” 5 x 7 inches, pen and watercolor, prints available in my shop

I hope you’re having a wonder-filled first days of September! I’m so excited for my first fall in Boulder {fall being my favorite season and now living in an area full of wild places to appreciate it}. Thanks for visiting and seeing what I’m up to! I hope you are so well!

3 Responses to “New Art Inspired by the Mountains”


  1. 1 Kerri September 2, 2011 at 6:06 pm

    Your beautiful striped water reminds me of feathers x

  2. 2 geoffpope September 6, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Your cozy family of pointing peaks reminds me of the Olympics, especially on this sensationally blue-sky day in Seattle.

  3. 3 erasmith September 27, 2011 at 2:54 am

    I love these (and all of the new watercolor drawings you’re doing!). I also love the letterpress experiments and am so honored to have one (I think? Tweet?)


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


