The Letterpress Adventure Begins!

Hey! I got a printing press! And she lives in my garage:

This is my new {old} Poco Proof Press No. 0! In the afternoons, I strap on my apron and go out to my garage and play. I’m just beginning to collect printing supplies/tools, so currently my repertoire is pretty small (I only have a handful of letters to print with), but I’ve been playing around nonetheless.

I love just to possess and look at this gorgeous wood type! It is the physical incarnation of the letters I love so much!

This is one of my first prints of my new wood letters, after I realized I could keep running the same paper through the press for an interesting layered look. This discovery is now providing endless joy to me as I see how I can manipulate it. Also, I discovered I could spell a few interesting words with my group of mismatched letters:

I am completely in love with the gorgeous impression I got on the letter “Q” here—it makes such graceful shapes, and I got especially excited about how it looked when I printed in a faded light gray tone (after printing over and over without re-inking the letters, I arrived at the different shades of gray).

And of course, always there is rhyming in my brain:

I have another set of letters on the way found through the amazing ebay! More letterpress fun to come! Stay tuned!

12 Responses to “The Letterpress Adventure Begins!”


  1. 1 Charmaine.Watkiss August 12, 2011 at 8:20 am

    What a beauty! Lucky you, I am sure you will have hours of fun!

  2. 2 Malea August 12, 2011 at 8:30 am

    Ohhhhh….I am in love! LOL! I wish I had the space (and money) to get a press! That is too cool! Your work is already transformative, but I think this will push you to an entirely new level. Rock on Nicole!

  3. 3 Sarah August 12, 2011 at 10:05 am

    That looks very cool and fun!

  4. 4 jaja August 12, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    WEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!

  5. 5 Nicole | Blue Bicicletta August 15, 2011 at 6:59 am

    you guys make me smile! Thanks for being as excited as I am!

  6. 6 Amy August 15, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    Ooh, congratulations! That’s beautiful. (You know, I actually took that beginning letterpress class at the SF Center for the Book as well! I went with a friend–it was a few years ago now.)

  7. 8 geoffpope August 18, 2011 at 9:57 am

    wOOps! I meant to exclaim that from this acCOWnt:

    Quwow-wee!

  8. 9 Kerri August 18, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH! I LOVE EVERYTHING! Oh my goodness, I can imagine you must never want to leave the press alone! It all looks so gorgeous! I am insanely jealous! Those wooden letters on their own are breathtaking too! Can’t wait to see more!

  9. 10 Christine August 30, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Lucky you! Hope you have lots and lots of ‘pressing fun!

  10. 11 Eartha September 12, 2015 at 8:15 pm

    Marvelous, what a blog it is! Thiis web site preesents useful information to
    us, keep it up.


  1. 1 Rhyming Fun Wild Letterpress {the first} Prints for Sale! « blue bicicletta Trackback on August 19, 2011 at 9:00 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


