Sunflowers and Wind : : New Linocuts!

Hello Hello! I’ve been working on some new linoleum block carvings to use as imagery with my new letterpress printing project—you know, the one I mentioned in my last post, called “In Praise of Small Things” that I’m raising money for on Kickstarter. If you haven’t heard about it yet, go on over to my fund raising project page and check it out! I would love for you to be a part of it! I’m so excited to see my project taking flight, and you can help me really make it a reality.

Well now, let’s get back to the purpose of this post: my new linocuts. Linoleum block carvings are one of the main ways I will create imagery for my new collection of art prints and cards because the blocks will work to print right along side lead or wood type. Since my project is about appreciating small everyday things, I’ve started by carving two things I love: a sunflower, and a playful interpretation of wind. Here are some test prints I did to see how I did on my carving:

Wouldn’t these be fun on some little art cards? I’m very happy with how they turned out and can’t wait to use them! The printing press I want to get for my project will do a much better job printing these than I could ever dream of doing by hand! Oh wait, did I show you the printing press I want to get? I don’t think I did—here it is:

This here is a Poco Proof Press No. 0! Isn’t it cool!? It’s one heavy-duty, historic piece of machinery, and there’s a printmaker selling it just 20 minutes from me. I went to see it this past weekend, and it runs so smoothly, and is just beautiful. I’m excited to have found out about a press like this because it’s as space efficient as other tabletop presses I’ve seen, but it would allow me to make both cards and prints (other tabletop platen-style presses I’ve considered are only big enough for cards). This press will take a little more playing around to set it up to do what I want it to do, since it was originally designed mainly for proofing things before setting up on another press (like for proofreading a newspaper, for example), but I think the versatility will be well worth my time.

Well, I hope you’re having a wonder-filled creative day! Happy dreaming!

5 Responses to “Sunflowers and Wind : : New Linocuts!”


  1. 1 Emma July 19, 2011 at 9:14 am

    Beautiful blocks/prints!

  2. 3 Charmaine.Watkiss July 24, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Beautiful prints – I would LOVE to have a proofing press, lucky you!

  3. 4 Lisa July 6, 2015 at 3:22 am

    Hello Nicole,
    I realize this post is a bit old, but I love this sunflower and was wondering if any prints were made of it. My sister is planning her wedding to be sunflower themed and I think she may like your design as a gift. Thanks, Lisa


  1. 1 LINOCUT | satori and silence Trackback on April 22, 2012 at 7:27 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


