Big News!! Come Help Fund my Next Creative Adventure: In Praise of Small Things!

I have big, big news, and I’m so excited to share it with you! I just launched a fund raising campaign on Kickstarter to fund a big creative adventure I’ve been dreaming of for a long time. It’s called “In Praise of Small Things: A Letterpress Adventure.”

Remember last year when I was raving about how much I love letterpress printing, and how I had just taken a beginning letterpress class? Well, I’ve been holding this excitement in my belly since then, waiting patiently {anxiously} to get to a more settled home and the right moment to pursue it. Well, now here I am in Boulder with a garage (waiting studio space), and more time for art. The right time has arrived! As extra incentive, I went to a little printer fair last weekend, and wouldn’t you know it, there was someone there with a tabletop proof press for sale! I’ve had the idea of doing a Kickstarter campaign for just such a thing in the back of my mind, and all of it came together at the right moment!

This project is not only about letterpress, but it’s about creating more work that really sends out the messages I want to share: messages about how we live in a beautiful, amazing world, and we only need to just appreciate what’s around us. I’ve been writing often lately about birds and clouds and sunlight. These are the things that make me stop and realize all that I have, and all that we all have {no one can take from you the feeling of wind blowing in your hair!}. So with this project, I want to create a beautiful new collection of art prints and cards that celebrate the beauty of life through the phenomenal medium of letterpress printing.

I can’t imagine a better medium than letterpress printing with which to create this collection—letterpress printing in and of itself is a medium that appreciates the small things—the printer has to pay attention to every little letter and piece of punctuation as she sets each piece one by one to create a design, and then make each print by hand.

The reason I’ve put my project on Kickstarter (an online creative fund raising platform) is because I NEED YOUR HELP! I want to put this inspiration out in the world, but I need to raise the funds to get equipment and supplies to create it!

You can find out more about my project by heading over to my In Praise of Small Things page on Kickstarter. I made a video, and as a contributor you will get to receive some of my first letterpress cards and prints with inspiring, whimsical, poetic messages and images about this beautiful world!

Kickstarter has a policy to encourage projects to really get going, and this policy stipulates that the project must be fully funded or else none of the money pledged will be donated. This means I need your help in another way: TELL YOUR FRIENDS! Spread the word! Help me reach my funding goal so my project can get out in the world! Twitter it. Facebook it! Blog about it! Talk about it! I give you my undying deep thanks for taking the time to be a part of my creative adventures!

Yay, I’m so excited—I’m off to shout about it on twitter!

1 Response to “Big News!! Come Help Fund my Next Creative Adventure: In Praise of Small Things!”



  1. 1 Sunflowers and Wind : : New Linocuts! « blue bicicletta Trackback on July 19, 2011 at 9:02 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


