Breathe in This Day, and Thoughts on Making Art

A new word drawing!

“Breathe in This Day,” 8 x 10 inches, pen and ink, prints available in my shop

and here’s a closeup so you can more easily read the words:

A while ago I realized that out of all the art I make, the pieces that make me feel most happy and satisfied and like I really communicated something worthwhile {even months or years later} are the ones that have real, deep messages that are important to me. In the face of this realization, I decided in my mind, “I will make more of this type of art: art with words that mean something to my life.”

At the time when I thought this, I wondered, “will I be able to do that? Will I be able to sit down and decide to make this particular type of art?” I wasn’t so sure—art often comes to me in waves—I go through phases with words, phases without, phases of small books, and phases where I draw lots of triangles. While this still might be true, I have found recently that the answer to my questions above are “Yes. I can sit down and make this type of art.” I can sit down and look out my window, and look into myself and bring together something that conveys what I want my life to be about.

I sometimes think about when I first started making art again. I often felt anxious—I would make one piece of art and feel anxiety about what I would make next. Now, about four years in, if I have learned just one lesson, it is this: there will always be more art to make. Art is bottomless! It is wide and infinite, full of humor and heart, it is the biggest sea of infinity in the world: the sea of imagination and creativity. What I also know now is that the key to rolling on this sea can sometimes be very hard to remember, but it’s very simple: create an opening in yourself.

Some days I’ll be going along doing errands, and business, and other left-brained things, and I start to get anxious. I think to myself, “there’s no way I could make art right now. I have so much to do! And I just don’t feel creative! And I just can’t!” And then I remember: the whole reason I’m doing any of this (having an art shop, marketing, etc, etc) is because I love to make art, and art makes me feel happy, alive, and peaceful. So, I sit down at my desk, and I create an opening for art. I let go of all the other things for the moment and just sit quietly. I begin to feel the peace that comes with doing what I am meant to do, and sure enough there comes art, swimming back to me—a little flutter on the wind.

1 Response to “Breathe in This Day, and Thoughts on Making Art”


  1. 1 rachel awes July 12, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    gorgeous!
    breathing it in…
    xox


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


