Isn’t This Supposed to be an Art Blog?

Did you know that it’s been almost a month since I’ve posted a single piece of art on this here supposed art blog!!??? Well, I couldn’t let that go on for much longer, not to mention the fact that I begin to feel a bit edgy if I haven’t made any art in a few weeks. So, here it goes—my first piece of art from Colorado!

“One Day at a Time,” 5 x 7 inches, pen and watercolor, prints available here in my shop {I enjoyed working with my watercolored letters so much back in May, I’ve decided to make more drawings this way!}

As always, much of my art comes from what I’m going through right now in my life, and this illustration is no exception. I always have trouble getting going again after a break, and so my big move to Colorado really set me adrift. Here I am in a new city in a new state, and an entirely new situation: since my husband got a new higher paying job (the reason we moved), I have a little bit more financial flexibility and am not in a rush to get a part-time side job.

So, it’s just me and art, at least for the next couple of months {at the end of which time we will assess our family finances and see where things are with my art business and decide whether or not I can continue doing art full-time}. While this is a lovely lovely gift, it is also very scary—I’m constantly assessing how to approach this new opportunity, and wondering what I can do differently this time around, since my last short try at making my full income from art didn’t work out as I hoped.

The answer I always come up with about art, and pretty much everything else, is: take it one day at a time. I have come to believe that the only way you can create a really beautiful unique life is to learn to live this way. It’s so easy to panic, to try to plan every second, to try to think your way out of failure, but all you can do is live your life one day at a time, one moment at a time, and do the best you can by making choices that feel good to you. And so it is with this drawing that I remind myself {and anyone else out there who needs to hear it} to put one foot in front of the other, and trust that you will get where you get, and no matter where it is, it will be just right.

Happy day to you!

2 Responses to “Isn’t This Supposed to be an Art Blog?”


  1. 1 Cheryl June 22, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    I’m out here, and I love your message! Thanks for sharing your journey as an artist. It’s always inspiring.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


