In the Vicinity

One of the cool things about my move to Boulder, Colorado, is that my family lives near(ish)by. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, then you may remember that my mom, dad, sister, brother-in-law, and nephews all live in Aspen, Colorado, and that I’m actually from Colorado {my family moved there when I was 11, and I went to middle and high school there}.

Very shortly after we arrived in Boulder, we took a drive over to Aspen for a visit. This was the first of what will be much more regular visits, now that we live just across the state. The drive takes about 4 hours and goes through very beautiful mountain areas. Sadly, it didn’t occur to me to take pictures along the drive this time, but one of these trips I will be sure to do it and share them here.

On the other hand, I did not forget to take pictures of my three sweet nephews . . .

{This is James. He’s 5 months old, and he’s the newest addition to my sister’s family. This was my first time meeting him as I wasn’t able to get back to Colorado sooner with all the hubbub of moving. James is a sweet, calm, happy baby. He enjoys looking around with his big blue eyes, especially at shiny things like my rings, which he studied in-depth one day at the park while holding on tightly to my hand. I was so happy to finally meet him.}

{And here are Simon (the oldest) and Luke. Every time I visit my family I get to spend some great time with these great guys. They are such easy-going, rough and tough boys. We go on hikes, play lots of sports, and in general, horse around. This time I especially got to see what great big brothers they are to James—they take great care of him, and James loves seeing their smiling faces.}

And now, it’s back to work! My new art desk is very nearly set up, and I’m ready to get going again. I re-opened my art shop just a few days ago, and will be getting back to art-making just as soon as I finish typing this post. Which reminds me, I better get going—art is waiting! I will be back soon with some new art, pictures of my new home, and other new surprises!

1 Response to “In the Vicinity”


  1. 1 Kerri June 22, 2011 at 2:20 am

    Your nephews are adorable! So glad you made the drive safely. Can’t wait to see more of your gorgeous art :)


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


