Farewell for Now and One of the Most Important Lessons I’ve learned in the Past Couple of Years


{This is a little watercolor and pen I’ve been playing with. I call this “Gems, in Rose”}

So, I had my last day of work work this week—my last day at my part time job {as courier for the City of Davis}. As I rounded the corner to my last day there, it became even clearer to me that this job taught me one big lesson, a lesson I really needed to learn, a lesson I would never have believed a year and a half ago: you can work a job for money without selling your soul!

This lesson is not a huge surprise to me at this point—this is the job I talked about in my post last October, Finding a Job that Jives with Your Creative Practice, and I’ve known for quite a while that I had found a winner of a job for me, or at least an absence of the complete loathing I had felt at many previous jobs. But, to have worked at a job job for a year and three months without ever having wanted to jump out a window is a new record for me! One thing I particularly noticed is that I never started counting down the days, hours, and minutes until my last day. I just kept doing my job, feeling excited about my upcoming move, but never really feeling the urgency to leave that I had felt before. This is really a revelation!

If you read my job guide last October, you would know that there were many special things about this job—at the top of this list is that I worked there only 17 hours per week. This had a big impact on how I viewed the job in the general scheme of my life. But still, if you had asked me two years ago if I would ever have a good relationship with any job (other than art), I would have been doubtful. And then I did.

And now I am here at a new crossroads—the big question looming in my work-life right now is: Once we move, will I try to do art full-time again, or will I get another part-time job? I’ve been wracking my brain over this one trying to know which way to go. A lot of it depends on money, and we’ll just have to see how our finances shake out once we get to Boulder, my husband starts his new job, and we see the actual cost of day-to-day life in a new place.

But then earlier this week, once I was coming to my last day at my job, a funny thing happened: I realized that it doesn’t really matter which way I go. I can actually say to myself, “If I need to get a part time job, I will just get a part time job,” and I don’t feel like I’ve fallen into a dark pit of loathing! This is quite a change from the wretchedness I felt back when I first started looking for work again after realizing that I just wasn’t financially prepared to continue with art full-time. {to read about my whole journey, see these posts}

I am so thankful to have learned this lesson—I know it will help me in my work-life for the rest of my life. Isn’t it amazing how sometimes you learn the most important lesson from something that at first feels like a colossal frustration and failure? In a way I am thankful to have been pushed to get this job, because knowing what I learned there just makes me more flexible and adaptable—more able to create my own life the way I want it, no matter what. So with that I say a big THANK YOU to the universe for showing me this, and to the City for hiring me!

And now the real moving and shaking begins. We’re off to Philadelphia this weekend for a friend’s wedding, and then next week we’ll be packing up and shipping out. As I mentioned before, I’m closing down Blue Bicicletta for most of the month of June. I’m hoping to come share some of the Philadelphia and packing adventures here with you on the blog next week, but I’m closing down my online shop today, to reopen when the dust settles at the end of June/beginning of July.

And then . . . I’ll be back and better than ever in July! I’ve been getting more and more excited about new work and new directions for Blue Bicicletta after this break. I can’t wait to continue to share the adventure with you! As always, stay tuned!

5 Responses to “Farewell for Now and One of the Most Important Lessons I’ve learned in the Past Couple of Years”


  1. 1 Jenny Shih May 26, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Congrats on the move and on the lesson, Nicole. You are amazing. You embraced what you needed to do to live, and you saw and provided fabulous evidence that life can be a little more like you want it to be (more art) and a little less like you don’t want it to be (less soul-selling).

    There are many people in the world who ponder that same question. Thank you for sharing your journey and your truth with all of us.

    Save travels, have fun moving, and I can’t wait to hear about what happens to you in Colorado!

  2. 2 Kerri May 26, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    Yay! i’m so pleased for you because i know EXACTLY how you feel about jobs in general i.e the same as me! What a lovely lesson to have learnt x

  3. 3 linda May 27, 2011 at 3:08 am

    I totally agree that sometimes the scariest things or most challenging experiences give us great lessons in life… I’m so happy that you have come to this point and it’s a good reminder for those of us who are all gung-ho about freelancing or no full-time job peeps…that there are plenty of people who are happy and fulfilled in their 9-5 jobs…that “working for the man” isn’t always struggling. It’s all about finding what is right for you…I think sometimes…even myself…start to generalize too much and make it seem like 9-5 is all gloom and doom…just because I am fighting for the opposite. LOL. Wishing you all the best!

  4. 4 sappling June 1, 2011 at 4:14 am

    I’ve had a similar awakening when I was working full time as a linguist. Even though it was work that I found intellectually stimulating, it consumed my whole life and I felt like that was all I had time for–because it was and I was miserable. So I quit my job and downgraded to a part-time writer/tutor and made room in my life for my family and my art and I’ve never been happier.

    • 5 Nicole | Blue Bicicletta June 1, 2011 at 10:00 am

      Hi Sarah! This is so great! I agree that it’s all about making room for things. For some reason our culture seems to encourage everyone to work more, and have a full time job with benefits. I know there are huge stability reasons connected to that, but for some of us, that’s just not the way that we’ll be happiest. Thanks for sharing! And I’m so happy you also liked my natural patterns alphabet!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


