Get Back on the Horse : : a new drawing, with color!

I’ve been thinking a lot about my art business lately, and how I’ve somewhat fallen off the horse as far as the business side of things go {you know, marketing, trying to grow my business, etc}. I think I’ve gotten jaded, or stuck, or a little lost, and my impending move to Colorado is making me think a lot about what my next steps will be.

Then yesterday I read this lovely post by Susannah, inspired by her nephew who is learning to walk. She writes (and shows in the cutest video) how he keeps falling down, but then he just laughs and gets back up again. This reminded me of just how important it is to do this—to keep getting back on the horse, keep laughing and trying again. And so, this drawing was born from this idea and also the fact that I drew a horse in my sketchbook some months ago and she was just dying to jump into a drawing.

You know I love black and white, but once I had put down the pen drawing it just needed something else. I instantly thought: blue {I am the blue bicicletta after all} so I pulled out my watercolors and went for it. I hope you enjoy it, and I hope it inspires you {whenever you may need it} to get back on that horse. I’m looking forward to hanging this one above my desk in my next home to remind me to keep on getting back up no matter how many times I may fall.

“Get Back on the Horse,” 8 x 10 inches, pen and ink & watercolor. Prints available here in my shop.

3 Responses to “Get Back on the Horse : : a new drawing, with color!”


  1. 1 Geoff M. Pope May 20, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Glad you’re back in the saddle again — and again; and as part of your celeBRAYtion, here’s the first stanza of Rudyard Kipling’s “White Horses:”

    Where run your colts at pasture?
    Where hide your mares to breed?
    ‘Mid bergs about the Ice-cap
    Or wove Sargasso weed;
    By chartless reef and channel,
    Or crafty coastwise bars,
    But most the ocean-meadows
    All purple to the stars!

    . . .

  2. 2 Kerri May 24, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    Your animal drawings are so graceful and fluid Nicole. I just love them x x


  1. 1 Isn’t This Supposed to be an Art Blog? « blue bicicletta Trackback on June 22, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


