The Final Countdown

Well, the time is coming—it’s the final countdown to our move to Colorado! Not yet the final, final countdown (we’ll move on June 5), but all of the things are starting to happen that hint at the end: The surprise graduation party for my husband is over (**read below for a recap). My last day at my part time job is one week from today. Mike just left on a final trip to the mountains before we leave California. We just signed the lease for our new house and booked the truck for moving day. All that’s left is to start packing, which we’re putting that off until the last minute. And next week we’ll take a quick trip to Philadelphia for Era’s wedding {a great little interlude in the chaos of transition}!

I’m in a state of disbelief that this time next month we will be living in Colorado! I’m also so excited to start this new phase that we’ve been imagining for many months. Transition always seems to be that particular combination of bitter and sweet—little bits of sadness as you leave things behind and the excitement of finding a new groove. For me, it’s also a process of accepting not knowing, of sitting back and letting the loose ends be loose. Of learning to be loose myself.

I sadly forgot to take any pictures of Mike’s surprise party, and can’t seem to think of the right picture to go with this melancholy post, so I’ll leave you with something new that I’m working on. It’s something sweet and simple—a new animation based on my cutest canine companion Lance. No matter what’s happening, Lance always reminds me to relax and enjoy simple life. so this drawing and this project actually goes perfectly with the sentiment of this post. Here’s Lance in his line drawing simplicity:

{**On Mike’s Surprise Graduation Party: He was really, really surprised! Until the very last minute he still didn’t suspect that 30 of his family members and friends would be meeting him that day! I blindfolded him, and he opened his eyes to their smiling faces at the park. The food worked out great, and everyone drank and was merry.}

P.S.: In light of my move across country (and also a couple little vacations), I will be closing up my online shop from May 26, 2011 through most of the month of June. So, if you’ve been eying something, head on over there and snatch it up by May 25!

0 Responses to “The Final Countdown”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


