Big News: Colorado here we come!

Hey there! I’m here to let you in on some big news: I’m moving to Colorado!

This move has been in the works for many months—my husband is in his last year of a PhD program, and we’ve been waiting and watching to figure out when precisely he would finish. We started thinking he was nearing the end last fall, but it’s difficult to predict the precise finishing point, and so it has been many months of me {not so} patiently waiting to find out when exactly he would finish and where he would get a job. Well, the time is here, and he has been offered and accepted a job in Boulder, Colorado! We will be moving from California to Colorado at the beginning of this June!

While we are sad to leave our lovely California (I’ve lived here for almost 11 years (since I came to college), and my husband was born and raised here), we are excited to get to move to such a beautiful place! We’ve long had our sights on Boulder because it’s a city with nearly everything we’re looking for: science jobs for Mike, mountains and wild places very nearby, and a fun cultural vibe. Also, I’m originally from Colorado, and my parents, and sister, brother-in-law, and nephews live there. Boulder is about 5 hours drive from them, and so I’m looking forward to seeing them a bit more often.

Of course, with the move comes all of the accompanying details—finding a new place to live, changing addresses, packing, physically moving, etc. Although we have moved quite a bit, this is our first move across state lines. The distance of the move (about 1,200 miles) is making things more interesting—like looking for a place to live without being able to actually see the place. It will be an adventure for sure! After all of the wondering about where we would end up, I’m still surprised that we will be living in a different state in just two months!

It will be business {fun} as usual here on the blog—I’m going to try and not let moving take over my life until it has to {hopefully not until the end of May}. Thanks for sharing in my big news! Happy day to you!

6 Responses to “Big News: Colorado here we come!”


  1. 1 tortagialla April 18, 2011 at 11:16 pm

    Oh, sounds like an exciting new adventure – all my best to you and your husband!

  2. 2 Arlete April 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    What fun! Boulder CO – an exciting place for another beginning. Congratulations to you and Mike.

  3. 3 Kerri April 20, 2011 at 3:16 am

    Oh wow! That’s so exciting! Hooray for new places and I’m sure Colorado will be gorgeous :)

  4. 4 Pica April 20, 2011 at 8:38 am

    wow, congrats! how exciting!


  1. 1 The Final Countdown « blue bicicletta Trackback on May 17, 2011 at 9:27 am
  2. 2 Farewell for Now and One of the Most Important Lessons I’ve learned in the Past Couple of Years « blue bicicletta Trackback on May 26, 2011 at 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


