Animal Mama and Babies : : a new fleet of drawings

Recently, I felt a longing to do some real drawing—to challenge myself a little bit—to look out into the real world and capture a line and a shape that tells a story. I thought for a while about what that could be. I was looking for a series that would carry a little momentum with it, not just a single drawing. I soon realized that I haven’t explored very much in the animal kingdom, and so my mind wandered there. I thought of a bear drawing I never finished, and so the bear was my first inspiration. I had in my head to capture the shape of a bear, and why not do it twice for a little intrigue and an excuse to contrast a black shape with a white one? And so my idea became a Mama and Baby series of animals. Here is my bear:

“Bear,” 8 x 10 inches, pen and ink

After the bear, what more striking and surreal animal is there than the giraffe? That neck gets me every time, but I couldn’t bring myself to draw a giraffe without also drawing the crazy pattern that they wear:

“Giraffe,” 8 x 10 inches, pen and ink

And then the fantastical whale came to mind, and I find that there’s no more iconic whale shape than the Sperm Whale. Did you know that the Sperm Whale is one of the deepest diving whales on the planet and dives more than 2,000 feet down?! I learned that reading this article, which also talks about how Sperm Whale mamas will have other female whales watch their young while they go diving for food. I do love a good excuse to learn random facts like this! Here’s my whale:

“Whale,” 8 x 10 inches, pen and ink

It wasn’t until after I started this series that I realized, “Hey, mother’s day is coming up! This is the perfect series for this time of year!” And so, I have just listed these three new drawings as prints available right here in my shop. Yay for drawing and the graceful shapes in nature. Nature is one spectacular work of art and one bottomless ocean of inspiration. Enjoy!

3 Responses to “Animal Mama and Babies : : a new fleet of drawings”


  1. 1 jaja April 7, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Waaaaaaaaaaaa, I absolutely love this! I can’t wait to see more!

  2. 2 Kerri April 10, 2011 at 9:55 pm

    Oh my goodness Nicole, these are so amazing! You should be very proud of yourself!


  1. 1 More Animal Mama and Babies! « blue bicicletta Trackback on April 14, 2011 at 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


