Sound Drawings : : a little stop motion film

Guess what? I made a little stop motion drawing film called Sound Drawings! Do you remember the papermation film I showed you last year? Well, I’ve been wanting to try a stop motion drawing film for some time, and so I finally did.

Stop motion is an animation technique where you take photos of action as it’s happening and assemble them into an animated sequence—kind of like the hi-tech version of a flip book. In this case, I did drawings piece by piece and took photos as I went along. This little film is assembled from about 250 photos. As you’ll see/hear when you watch it, this film is about sound and words, and if you’ve been following my work since the beginning, you’ll notice that this film is most definitely inspired by some paintings I did a long time ago.

The most fun part of making this film was quite unexpected—it was adding the sound. My first idea was to make a film with words and drawings and audio of me saying the words. Once I finished the film to that point, I decided that it needed some extra intrigue in the sound department, so I added some drum beats. Then my husband listened to it, and suggested adding some other sound, so the two of us sat around like gleeful children listening to all of the sounds garage band (the music program that came with our mac computer) had to offer. Neither of us are skilled or trained in music, so it was really fun to play in such a new way. In fact, the whole thing was very much about experimenting—the learning curve for me was huge in figuring out how to put what was in my head into a working film with little technical experience. I can’t wait to apply what I learned from making this to a new little film! I hope you enjoy it, and it gives you a little chuckle.

9 Responses to “Sound Drawings : : a little stop motion film”


  1. 1 Jenny April 4, 2011 at 8:46 am

    That’s so much fun, Nicole! It’s almost as if I can feel the inspiration that flowed through you. The rhymes, the twists and turns, ooo, it was fun to watch.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. 2 Amy April 4, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Nicole, that was delightful! I was totally engaged–it actually reminded me very much of The Electric Company, an absolute childhood favorite. My brother used to make flip books all the time when we were kids, and they and stop motion films have always fascinated me. Thanks so much for sharing this, and I can’t wait to see what else you come up with! xo

  3. 3 Kerri April 5, 2011 at 12:04 am

    So freaking cool Nicole! I love it!

  4. 4 Arlete April 7, 2011 at 7:24 am

    I really enjoyed your “animated” sound drawings. Very creative! Do this again.

  5. 5 lauren April 7, 2011 at 9:59 am

    Love this! :) Happy Spring!

  6. 6 toadflax April 8, 2011 at 6:20 am

    I can’t view your animation. Just an image space is below your blog article.


  1. 1 Sweet Irises « blue bicicletta Trackback on April 20, 2011 at 11:19 am
  2. 2 My New Animation : : Do You Know What Makes Your Heart Sing? « blue bicicletta Trackback on May 9, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


