Delighting in the Process, and a Love for Little Books

{the words for a new little book waiting to be cut and pasted}

I’m working on another small book this week—I just can’t seem to get enough of them. They feel like an ideal venue for me to convey ideas—the adorable yet unassuming smallness (just 5.5 x 4.25 inches), the tension and surprise of sharing and receiving an idea in small pieces as you turn each page.

I feel the perfect balance of wild possibility and structure inherent in the book form, and the white openness of each little spread invites me to play big time.

It is a delight to bring together so many things I love in one place: books, series, words, visual art, and because of the way I make these books: typography, white space, cutting and pasting, a little bit of sewing, and a flowing messy creative process that includes much silliness and light.

I am so happy to have found this little window of making—it seems so obvious to me now, and yet I never would have found it had I not been walking step by step and looking around always for something new to make. I am thankful to be in this world and able to do that.

What process is delighting you these days?

2 Responses to “Delighting in the Process, and a Love for Little Books”


  1. 1 Kerri March 13, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    Ah yes, a book of any size is always good! You’ll be pleased to know that I braved the earthquake rubble to go into the city and buy mod podge so I can finally try a collagraph :)

  2. 2 antiphonsgarden March 15, 2011 at 3:54 am

    Spring gardening!

    I understand you well, I love to make a book from the first idea up to his printing.I might do that again too in future.

    Bonne chance to your new oeuvre!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


