This is My Body, a Drawing

I’ve struggled a long time {as so many women and people in general have} around issues of body image. I could go into a long description of how it all started and where it came from, but I’ll save that for another day {in fact, I’ve been working on an essay on that very topic to share in some way in the future}. Suffice it to say, that I went through the {unfortunately} standard trials for a girl growing up in this society, compounded by the fact that I was actually overweight for a large part of my adolescence and teen years.

I don’t often talk about this subject, except in the usual banter that women take part in—most women I know dislike something about their bodies and worry constantly about being fat. I’ve been trying to stop partaking in that banter, but I’ve also recently realized how freeing it is to be able to write about this subject honestly. To not feel like I have to conceal something.

What breaks my heart again and again is realizing how this affects every woman I meet—all ages, all sizes. It breaks my heart to see that body image is a struggle when you’re 8 years old, and still a struggle when you’re 60. I don’t mean to make this into a women’s problem, I know that many men struggle too. But as it’s discussed over and over again in the media and in just every day life, the struggle is extremely prevalent in women. And personally, I’ve heard nearly every woman I know make some negative comment about her body.

In thinking about this issue recently, I decided to write this little verse and make this drawing in an attempt to open the door for myself, and perhaps a few others, to a new way of seeing things. I hope you enjoy it.

“This is My Body,” 8 x 10 inches, pen and ink, prints available in my shop

8 Responses to “This is My Body, a Drawing”


  1. 1 Christa March 4, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    I really like this. A lot. Thank you.

  2. 3 Kerri March 5, 2011 at 1:17 am

    Do you know Nicole when I signed in to etsy this morning, this image of yours came up in my side bar under new things in your favourite shops. It took my breath away! I absolutely adore it. Next time I’m due a present I’m asking for this!

  3. 5 Amy March 9, 2011 at 1:08 am

    So, so lovely, Nicole! What a wonderful piece.

  4. 6 Erica March 18, 2011 at 2:25 am

    Nicole! What a gorgeous, poetic, and affirming drawing. I think this drawing gets at what makes your art so powerful; the simple design and well chosen words that convey more together than each could alone.

  5. 7 vivienne March 24, 2011 at 8:56 am

    thank you for sharing this.
    i so relate to every word of this.
    and this image….incredible!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


