Alimentum : : Drawing About Food

Last week in the mail I received the finished version of some work I did back in the fall, and I wanted to share it with you! Last summer a wonderful literary journal called Alimentum: The Literature of Food asked me if I would like to do illustrations for their upcoming Winter 2011 issue. Peter Selgin, one of their art directors, had seen my drawings on Etsy and thought my work would be a good fit for the journal, that {as you might have guessed from the title} is all about food.

Of course, since food, cooking, and eating is one of my great loves in life, I jumped at the chance. Each issue they ask an artist to do a handful of food-related illustrations to liven up the pages. I ended up doing around 16 little drawings. What fun it was! And now the journal is out at stores. In fact, I saw it the other day at Newsbeat, my local news/magazine store, and I felt like quite a celebrity to find my little drawings out in public in this way! Here are some glimpses:

If you’d like to grab yourself a copy of this celebration of food, check your local independent magazine store, or you can subscribe on the Alimentum website! Lots of good reading to be had! Happy day!

7 Responses to “Alimentum : : Drawing About Food”


  1. 1 Kerri January 31, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    WHAT?! Why didn’t you tell me before! That’s so amazing! Congratulations! How wonderful to be in a real book! That’s a lot of exclamation points isn’t it? I’m so happy for you!

  2. 2 Erica January 31, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Congrats Nicole! I can’t wait to go buy myself a copy!

  3. 3 Amy February 1, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Ooh! I can’t wait to see this in real life! Yay Nicole!

  4. 4 jaja February 7, 2011 at 3:45 pm

    yesssssssssssssssssssssss!! those are so perfect and adorable!!! congratulations! what an amazing idea for a magazine too…

  5. 5 Geoff M. Pope February 9, 2011 at 9:54 am

    conGreatYoulayums! I especially like your Arborio risotto box and mushrooms on page 115, with that story ending “Then, when he got what he wanted, I would begin to let him go.”

    Geo


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


