Peace: a collagraph

You know I couldn’t help myself—it was only a matter of time with me making collagraphs before I would start in with the words. And of course, the first word I thought of {the word I repeat to myself over and over again hoping that saying it will make me be it} was:

In making this, I thought it would be fun to emphasize the cut and paste nature of making the collagraph printing plate, so I made these words by cutting up little scraps of paper and assembling (and then glueing to a matboard base). Of course, I had to remind myself over and over again to put the letters backwards—see that’s where printmaking gets tricky: you have to think in mirror images because once the plate is printed, the print will be a mirror image of the plate. This is especially crucial with words! And I think it’s easy to get so involved with making that you forget where you are. I’m sure, if I ever make many collagraphs with words, it’s bound to happen sometime that I forget to reverse the letters, but alas this time went smoothly!

Happy peaceful day to you!

6 Responses to “Peace: a collagraph”


  1. 1 Lee Ann January 27, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Love it! Oh I’m glad you mentioned we have to “think in mirror image” to do this. I would forget that for sure when trying this.

  2. 2 Amy January 27, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    I would absolutely forget to reverse the letters. And perhaps that’s why it’s best for me to stick with less critically oriented images when printing. Of course, if you do reverse the letters at some point, you can simply tape it face up against your mirror as a message to yourself. ;-) I love this one–they just get better and better!

  3. 4 warez портал January 28, 2011 at 8:29 am

    .I would forget that for sure when trying this?

  4. 5 jaja February 7, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    such an explosively creative idea, i love the how the appearance of the words makes you double back on the meaning of the word … ultimate word/art play!


  1. 1 February: A Month of Peace « blue bicicletta Trackback on February 1, 2011 at 9:34 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


