Small Stones: little bits of daily writing

I’ve been somewhat silently participating in A River of Stones this month. Silently—meaning: I haven’t mentioned it on this blog until now! A River of Stones is a month-long challenge based on writing “small stones” every day for the month of January. A small stone is “a polished moment of paying proper attention,” as it is defined by the organizers, a writer by the name of Fiona Robyn and her fiance Kaspa. Basically, the idea is to write a few lines every day in observation and appreciation of life. To get a better idea of what a “small stone” is, check out this page on their blog. Many of them feel a little like haikus, but they need not be in any specific form, and you don’t need to be a “writer” to create them.

When I found out about the project through the lovely Amy, I thought it was the perfect way to encourage myself to do a little more writing, and also the project is so fantastically in line with my values and ideas about how I want to live and make art that I didn’t have to think twice. I have sadly neglected to tell you all about it in time for you to jump on the bandwagon for the month of January, but I think this is a great project to do any time, and I hope to continue it well after January. I think a year of small stones would be an amazing collection of little bits of my life. Here are some of my favorites that I’ve written so far:

January 10:
sitting at my desk, I stop to listen to the silence in between. It fills me up with peace.

January 11:
ritual: brushing my teeth before bed – looking myself in the eyes in the mirror, foaming at the mouth, mint tingle, bristle sound. I’ve done this every day of my life since I had teeth.

January 14 (my third nephew was born this day in Colorado):
Happy Birthday Baby James! Today is your first day breathing the air out here. I’m thinking of you from California.

January 19:
cutting rain shards out of paper in the quiet house, I am myself.

January 20:
driving on the highway behind a truck loaded down with hay – the strands fly out into a tossled golden storm around my car. I close the window to keep them out. But I love them in their messy, gritty excitement and wildness.

4 Responses to “Small Stones: little bits of daily writing”


  1. 1 Amy January 27, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    Oh yay! I’m so thrilled you decided to join in the fun. And I don’t think there’s any stopping this project when January ends–even Fiona and Kaspa seem ready to keep it going in various forms. And once you’ve begun to write these, you can’t help but want to continue, I think. (Though I was remiss about getting them out of my journal and onto the blog this week myself! Oh well, there’s still plenty of time.) I love your little stones–particularly the tooth brushing ritual and the hay truck storm. Lovely. xo

  2. 2 Kerri January 28, 2011 at 2:02 am

    Damn! Wish I had joined in too.

  3. 3 Geoff M. Pope January 28, 2011 at 6:41 am

    My favorites from your posted stones:

    foaming at the mouth, mint tingle, bristle sound

    cutting rain shards out of paper

  4. 4 keishua February 5, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    That seems like a great project.I wish I had heard of it. Maybe, next time. Love reading your small stones. peace.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 342 other followers

Archives


