A Long Lost Poem

I have been writing more lately, after a long (multi-year) hiatus from any writing other than blogging and journaling. I used to write poetry—buckets of it. At one point I was all set up to start an MFA in poetry writing, but things fell apart, and then visual art walked back into my life and I followed.

Writing constantly weaves into my visual work—sometimes I feel like my drawings are kind of like poetry fragments—but I haven’t sat down and tried to write a poem for a poem’s sake in a long time. I’ve shared many words on this blog, including of course the bits I write for my drawings, but for some reason it feels safer {less vulnerable} to share things this way, and I feel like I’ve never shared any true poem of mine {kind of like I’m a closet poet}. Lately, I’ve picked up the pen again, and I can feel some things coming back to me—mainly the will to write.

While I’m not yet brave enough or ready enough to share with you anything I’ve written really recently, I was just perusing a file on my computer titled “poetry” that has a bunch of drafts of poems I’ve written and worked on from time to time. I found one poem in there that I have absolutely no recollection of ever writing, and it stole my heart. I almost wanted to check with someone somewhere to make sure it was mine. I was just so surprised by it. It gives me much heart about poetry and writing and the beauty of making things, and I wanted to share it with you. And so, here it goes . . .

~
Poems Anywhere

some days
I would go to a cabin,
find my poems in pine needles
or the quaking of birds,

but then the squeaking fat tires
of the auto repair truck
roll by,
and I find a poem
in my purple lunchbox:
the pink
girl runs the duck,
speckled, into
shhhhhhhh.

and in here
my books whisper
like a church
and the window
is sungreen
dangling down,

poems come like rain
hang on like air,
loud and lonely
thin and homely
anywhere.

6 Responses to “A Long Lost Poem”


  1. 1 Geoff M. Pope January 20, 2011 at 1:02 am

    Not many poems
    can keep me up
    or wake me up
    at one a.m.,
    but this one
    did, especially
    with the last
    eight lines!

    Encore!

  2. 2 Kerri January 20, 2011 at 1:09 am

    Wow! The first four lines gave me goose bumps! Love it x

  3. 3 erasmith January 20, 2011 at 2:17 pm

    Here here! It’s that last stanza that really makes it perfect.

  4. 4 Marianne Bland January 20, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    I know it’s hard to share poetry- what is it about poems that makes you feel so much more naked than images?- but I’m so glad you did. This really is lovely. I feel like you have such a toolbox of amazing creative skills at your disposal, my dear.

  5. 5 Amy January 20, 2011 at 5:42 pm

    Oh, Nicole, thank you for sharing this! I love it–and most especially that final stanza. Delicious. I can’t wait to read more of what you’ve been working on.

  6. 6 Malea January 20, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    I love the idea of books whispering. Thank you for sharing!!!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


