Another Color Experiment: Blue Pinwheels

Here’s another experiment in color and black ink—I’m calling it “Blue Pinwheels” for obvious reasons.

I started thinking about how many beginning painting students have to take a color theory class where they paint endless color wheels to learn how to mix colors. I never went through that rigorous study {and I think I probably would have spent long nights banging my head against my paint box if I did}, but perhaps these pinwheels are my own lighter version of them. Really, I was just messing around, and pinwheels are made up of triangles—and you know how I love triangles {and the color blue}.

And to be honest, I can’t imagine {in all kindness} forcing myself to got through every color in the color wheel with a new set of pinwheels. So in the end, perhaps this really is nothing like doing color wheels! I’m just playing {as always}.

Happy fancy-free playing to you!

2 Responses to “Another Color Experiment: Blue Pinwheels”


  1. 1 Kerri January 16, 2011 at 1:10 am

    There’s something very clever about these Nicole. They almost seem to move of their own accord! So glad you are enjoying painting x

  2. 2 Amy January 17, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I agree with Kerri–these do seem very full of life. I’m really enjoying all the color you’re playing with, and I love the combination of color with the ink line drawing on top of it. Makes me want to play with that method myself!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


