A Tall Skinny Font and My Favorite Color in the World

So, the key word for me this month is play, and so I have been playing around with a new hand-drawn font:

I have been seeing versions of a font like this around in the “Indie Movement” for a while now, but I was specifically inspired by a tutorial I saw in Sunset magazine created by Yellow Owl Workshop. I have seen Yellow Owl Workshop’s work several times on the Internets—there’s something about their work that really attracts me. So, I was not surprised when I was lead there once again through this page I ripped out of Sunset. Isn’t it funny how that happens? A certain style calls you and you keep finding your way back to the same artists again and again! This font is so much fun to play with and I’ve been using it every chance I get. You will most definitely be seeing it show up here again.

On a second note, since I’ve been playing with paint a little this last week, I thought I would share with you:


I was painting in blue yesterday and found myself {by no surprise really} mixing up this color. I’m not sure how faithfully it is represented on your computer monitor, but my favorite color in the world is a soft blue with a hint of gray—it reminds me of the sea, and I find the color to be so peaceful. I have many memories of looking out on a shade of this color when visiting the north coast of California. One day I dream of having an art studio painted this color.

Happy wide blue day!

14 Responses to “A Tall Skinny Font and My Favorite Color in the World”


  1. 1 Lee Ann January 13, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I love that color of blue too! I have been in love with cobalt blue forever. Your new font is fantastic!

  2. 2 Kerri January 14, 2011 at 1:53 am

    Ooh blue/gray is one of my favourite colours too! And I love your writing as always!

  3. 3 Amy January 17, 2011 at 5:52 pm

    I really love the idea of developing one’s own font. Do you use the fonts as guides to handwriting (for artwork, etc., if that makes sense)? Or do you actually turn them into something that can be printed from your computer? Or both! I think I’d love to create a font by hand–though I imagine such a thing would take me forever–and then be able to print it straight from my computer.

  4. 4 Geoff M. Pope January 27, 2011 at 11:13 am

    I’m azurectastic in fontlove!

  5. 5 Priscilla November 29, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    What font is this? <3

  6. 7 Victoria November 4, 2015 at 2:57 am

    Hi Nicole, are you offering this font for sale?

    • 8 Nicole | Blue Bicicletta November 4, 2015 at 11:34 am

      Hi Victoria,

      Thanks for your interest. Unfortunately, I am not offering this font for sale, but you are welcome to use it as inspiration to draw your own version. It’s a pretty simple font and so fun to play around with.

      Have fun!

      Sincerely,

      Nicole

      On Wednesday, November 4, 2015, blue bicicletta wrote:

      >

      • 9 Victoria November 4, 2015 at 7:36 pm

        Hello again….
        Actually, I’m not an artist so I have no clue as to how to have someone replicate this font. I’m trying to start a little online business and your font was so perfect. I’m on a teeny budget so a custom font could prove to be beyond my reach, but naturally I’ll check around to see.
        Forgive my persistence, but is there any chance you’re willing to license it for commercial use?
        Thanks again!

      • 10 Nicole | Blue Bicicletta November 5, 2015 at 11:37 am

        Hi Victoria,

        I’m sorry, but I am not really making art as my work anymore, so as far as licensing the font, I am not really able to do it right now. If you ar working with a web designer or graphics person, you might just show them my blog post and they could create a variation. Otherwise, what is your business and how are you wanting to use th font?

        Nicole

        On Wednesday, November 4, 2015, blue bicicletta wrote:

        >

      • 11 Victoria November 5, 2015 at 4:39 pm

        Hi Nicole,
        I’m working on starting an online dog/cat boutique. I’d use the font as a huge part of my branding – banner, logo, branded merch, the works. I’m new at this and it’s been a slow process. But yes, I will be working with a web designer eventually and will definitely show him/her your fabulous font! Thanks for your input and patience – I know I’m being a pest!
        Best,
        Vicki

      • 12 Nicole | Blue Bicicletta November 6, 2015 at 11:45 am

        Hi Victoria,

        How exciting to be starting a new business, and as a dog-lover I think your idea is great! You are not being a pest – I wish I could be more helpful. Unfortunately my tall skinny font was just me messing around drawing letters, and it is not a proper font in the sense of being able to use it to type up words. And I am not doing art as my primary work right now. One more place you might check is Yellow Owl Studio which I mention in the blog post you saw as the inspiration for th font. I am not sure if they sell fonts, but they do a lot of cool stuff and just might. Good luck!

        Nicole

        On Thursday, November 5, 2015, blue bicicletta wrote:

        >

      • 13 Victoria November 6, 2015 at 4:39 pm

        Thanks, Nicole – take care!

      • 14 Victoria November 6, 2015 at 4:59 pm

        Oh, one last thing and then I promise to let it go, but just for the record, I need a cute font only for the website banner, logo & branded merch, but then the rest of what I’d need to be typed – content of website, etc. – would have to be in a font that blended in with it somewhat.
        Anyway, I’m looking forward to getting this little biz of mine off the ground and just wish I had your talent! Thanks again for your patience and understanding and, I’ll be sure to check out Yellow Owl as well.
        Best,
        Vicki


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


