Old Photos from the Old Country

I love old photos {as I’ve said before}, and really, the older the photos get, the more interesting and mysterious they get. Yesterday, I received a surprise package in the mail from my cousin Rose. Every year my Aunt Angie gives Rose and her four sisters copies of old pictures from the family archive. In recent years, my sister and I have started to also benefit from this super cool tradition. Enclosed in yesterday’s package were the newest additions to my collection, and they are stunners—


from left to right: my grandmother, her mother, and my great aunt Rosina. I think this picture was probably taken in the 1920s or 1930s—but you probably could have guessed that from the clothes! Most likely taken in southern Italy, where my dad’s family is from.

My grandmother and grandfather, taken I think in the 1940s, I would guess in Italy as well, although they came to the U.S. when they were a young family

OK, aren’t these pictures ridiculous!? I mean they’re straight out of the movies! I love all of the wild eyes in the first picture, and my great-grandmother’s long necklace, and the horrible haircuts both of the girls had (it looks like there have been bad haircuts through all generations). And then, really there are no words that can even grasp at the second picture—could they be any more glamorous? My grandfather looks like he’s straight out of the godfather or any movie around this time, he’s Mr. Suave. There are other photos of him in the 50s wearing aviator glasses, seriously!

I would love to go back in time and meet my great grandmother when she was young and fire-eyed, and my grandmother when she was in her 20s. I can see from these pictures that my grandmother looked a lot like her mother, and that warms my heart for some reason. Isn’t it wonderful how old photos can do that? Thank you Rose!

Happy weekend to you!

6 Responses to “Old Photos from the Old Country”


  1. 1 Marianne January 7, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Wow, how amazing! I have to say, I can absolutely see your resemblance to your great-grandmother! That’s just incredible. What delights! Thanks for sharing!

  2. 2 Kerri January 7, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    I LOVE old photos and these are gorgeous! Your great grandmother is so beautiful! I love the wild eyes too. I collect old photos from antique and junk shops. I can never believe that people didn’t care enough to keep them in their family. How lucky to have such beautiful pictures of your family.

  3. 3 antiphonsgarden January 8, 2011 at 4:13 am

    Thank you to share some moments of your family history.I love those old photos too, and now that we know how epigenetic is a part of our actual life experience, the attraction to them is quiet natural.History awareness is the solid base of our future.

  4. 4 Amy January 8, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Wow, these really are a treasure. And your grandmother and her mother before her were both absolutely stunning–as is your grandfather! And you’re totally right about the glamour of that second photo. I wonder if they were all spiffed up to have their picture taken, or if they were going somewhere special–or if they maybe just always looked that fantastically chic!

  5. 5 Leah January 8, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Great collection! The eyes in the first picture are something, aren’t they?! How fun.

  6. 6 Lars March 17, 2015 at 9:55 am

    lars.lindecken@gmx.de
    Lars Lindecken
    Amtskellerstraße 8
    61184 Karben

    Hallo mein Freund,
    vielleicht kannst Du mir helfen?
    Ich sammele alte Fotos (vor 1950) aus der ganzen Welt, damit man die Menschen und ihr Leben in dieser Zeit sieht.
    Ich habe viele Fotos aus Deutschland (vor 1950) zum Tauschen.
    Wenn Du tauschen möchtest sage mir bescheid.

    Vielen Dank
    Lars


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


