Airplane Scribbling and The Way to Peace

Hello Hello! Happy New Year! I hope you’ve had a wonder-filled first few days of 2011! We got back from visiting my family in Colorado just before New Year’s, and have now spent a very relaxing long weekend at home, which has included: sleeping in very late, eating lots of good food, using some gift cards we got for the holidays which means: new shoes, clothes, and dinner out! It’s been a very vacation-y post-vacation! And now, two un-related things to share with you. First, some airplane scribbles:

{A fun font I drew on the back of an airline napkin. I’ve seen fonts somewhat like this before, but it was the first time I drew it.}

And now on a philosophical note :: some time before Christmas, I came across some simple words, and they have been traveling with me the last week. I’m not sure where I heard or read them (if you know whose they are, drop me a comment), but they go like this:

There is no way to peace, peace is the way.

I have heard this idea many times, and perhaps I have heard even these specific words before, but they came back to me just when I needed them—sitting stuck in an airport fretting about whether or not we would get home that night. Since then, I have been turning them over in my head. They have this un-graspable, infinite feel to them, don’t you think?

I often spend a lot of time and effort trying to arrive at peace, but I keep forgetting that peace is not a destination, it is a “way,” a path. Peace is all around us all the time. We can choose at any moment to let everything else go and live in it. I often wonder why it feels so hard when it really is so simple. I think it’s precisely because I’m trying to arrive there instead of just letting peace be the way.

I’m wishing all of us the possibility to just sit back and live in the peace as much as we can—today, this moment, and every moment this year. Happy peace-soft-day to you!

3 Responses to “Airplane Scribbling and The Way to Peace”


  1. 1 rachel awes January 4, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    peace to you,
    written in my
    imagination
    in your
    airplane written
    font
    w/love.
    xox

  2. 2 Kerri January 5, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I do think people like us have to learn to be peaceful! We’re always wondering about things and I tend to obsess over things that bother me. Sometimes I think of life as having several roads and I can see the parallel road of peace but I can’t figure out how to cross over! Mostly these days, I tell myself that whatever I’m worrying about is actually ok. Not perfect maybe, but definitely ok. So little REALLY matters in this world. So glad you’re back. I really missed you!

  3. 3 erasmith January 7, 2011 at 8:38 am

    That font is awesome! You (and e.e.!) continue to amaze ME!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


