Something That Makes Me Smile

I’ll be completely honest—I’m a sucker for dogs and puppies. Something in my heart just softens when I see them! I’ve had a dog in my life for nearly ever single year of it, other than the college years, and even then I would take trips back to my childhood home and visit with the family dogs. So, it’s no surprise that I fell in love at first sight with the cards ofHooray for the Underdog—cards with some of the cutest and original images of rescue animals {including lots of canines}.

Have you seen these cards around? They have a big display at my local post office, and now I’ve seen their holiday cards just about everywhere. Every day for the past several weeks, while I’m waiting in line at the post office (for my courier job), I peruse their card display. A couple of weeks ago, the holiday cards came out, and I almost lost myself over this one:

These two “underdogs” are called Duncan & Bibi, as it says on the back of the card. They also have a profile and special power, which you can see here.

The story behind me getting the card, is almost as good as the card itself. I was standing in line at the post office as usual, and the woman in front of me was checking out the cards. Then the woman in back of me started looking too—and so we were three women enjoying all of the cuteness together. And then I commented to the woman ahead of me how I just loved this card (above), and how I wished they sold them in singles because I really just wanted one (not a whole box). In that very moment, the woman picked up the box of cards and told me she was thinking of buying them anyway, and would I like to have one? I was absolutely amazed by this—the kindness of strangers! And of course I said yes, and I walked out of the post office later with a big smile on my face and these cute fellows in my hand. Now they sit on my desk, and I can’t help smiling every time I look at them.

As is evidenced by this story, I’m not the only one who has noticed these cards {and really, I’ve seen them for sale in 3+ stores in my smallish town}. But I just want to add one more thank you to the chorus of thank yous. Thank you husband and wife team Joe Grisham and Janet Healey for making something that made me smile!

2 Responses to “Something That Makes Me Smile”


  1. 1 Amy November 11, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    I *love* that story–how delightful! (And really, is it any wonder that 3 stores here in town carry those cards? Dogs-r-us, and Cute-r-those-cards…or something…)

    My husband and I were up in Truckee last week (with our two doggles), and I can’t even tell you how many other dogs we encountered. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many dogs just out and about in a town–even here in Davis–and every store we went into had a shop dog. I walked into the bead store, and there was no one in the front room, so I started looking at stuff. And within seconds, I realized there was a little someone snuffling at my pant legs. I turned around to find Claire, the resident beagle, doing her shop dog duties and greeting me. We had a little belly scritch, and then I went on with what I’d been doing–it was great. :-)

  2. 2 Kerri November 14, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Hooray for random acts of kindness and cute cards! Love the antlers!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


