Wide Like the Sea, Deep Like the Sea

It was tough to pick a title for this drawing, as so many of my favorite words are in it: expanse, sea, wide, deep. I ended up settling on the first three words of the drawing as title, but I am excited to use some others from it in the title of this post.

“I Bow to Myself,” 5 x 7 inches, pen and ink, prints available in my shop

This drawing was inspired by a lot of things that are going around in my head right now {wait, that’s where all of my drawings come from!}, specifically from a meditation class I’ve been taking, some yoga I’ve been doing, and various things I’ve read and heard through my interest in these meditative ideas the past several months. I found the words “I bow to myself” today in reading about some mantras I learned in my meditation class. What I was reading was talking about bowing to your true self—the one deep inside you that is connected to everything else. I really liked that idea, and so the other words followed as I thought about what this deeper self could be.

Also, I’m loving this font {you may have noticed me using it a lot lately!}. I think of it as my “out of the ether” font because I first drew a version of it for that drawing, quite some time ago. It feels so airy and honest to me. I’m having a lot of fun drawing it!

And with this, I wish you a wide expansive weekend. I’m off to the sea this weekend to visit my mother-in-law. I must have the sea on my brain!

2 Responses to “Wide Like the Sea, Deep Like the Sea”


  1. 1 Emma October 22, 2010 at 5:48 am

    I have a problem.

    That problem is that every single thing you post…I love!

    But I don’t think I should just keep commenting on every post: “I love it!!”

    But I do!!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


