Art as Teacher, and a Life Dancing Drawing!

Art gives me the answers, if I’m willing to listen.

The other day, I was walking and I was feeling frustrated—“why am I never quite happy? never quite calm? never quite anything?” I wondered.

I felt restless, and I was looking for a way out.

And then I thought, “maybe I should make some art.”
And then I thought, “what would I like to feel like right now?”

So I said, {looking up into the sky quite epically} “World, would you send me some art on this topic, please? I am here, and I am ready.”

And then this came down, and I felt lucky, and I returned home and went about making it like a busy bee.

“Life Dance,” 8 x 10 inches, pen and ink, prints available in my shop

Happy making!

4 Responses to “Art as Teacher, and a Life Dancing Drawing!”


  1. 1 antiphonsgarden September 28, 2010 at 2:52 am

    The way “out” is the way “in”.Accepting the paradoxes, the fog, the not knowing, whatever emotion IS.Out of this acceptance comes the next step, naturally.

  2. 3 Lekeishua.Arthur September 28, 2010 at 6:26 am

    that is a beautiful print. very inspiring.

  3. 4 Kerri September 28, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Nicole this is so so wonderful! I love the deep rich velvety black and the words look so gorgeous in that script.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


