A New Direction

Hello! I’m blogging for the very first time from our new little apartment! We’re just across town from our old house, but after all the tumult of being without a home for one month, I am most definitely glad to be home and back living in Davis! I got to ride my bike for the first time in a month yesterday, and as you might have guessed from the name of this blog, this no-biking thing was really getting to be a desperate situation! I was beginning to feel appalled by all of the driving I was doing, commuting to Davis from where we were staying with family about 45 minutes away. But now, here I am, back at my good old wooden table, and I’m feeling more settled every minute.

Back to the actual topic of this post—a new direction! Do you remember my recent post about my thought soup? I was talking very cryptically about a “new direction” or a “missing piece” that I was thinking about pursuing. Well, I’m back to tell you a little more about what that “new thing” is.

If you’ve been reading this blog, you will have noticed my regular exclamations about doing what you love and letting your heart sing, and really, I’ve been interested in these ideas for longer than this blog. I’ve been especially interested in “career-development,” or whatever you call the idea of doing work you are really really really passionate about. I think this interest started to develop about 6 years ago when I graduated from college and started to figure out that a “traditional” working situation was not for me—basically, that I was not OK with spending 40 hours each week slaving at something that made me miserable.

So, I’ve been asking this question for a while: where does this interest fit into my life? Is it just a casual interest, or should it be more a part of my work? I’ve gone back and forth about this, waffled and waffled some more. And finally, I’ve decided to waffle no longer. I have taken the first step into some sort of more serious work with career development in the form of a new blog called The Possibility Path.

I tossed around many ideas about what my direction would be—study career counseling, train to be a career coach, try to get a volunteer job in the field, and while all of those are definite possibilities for my future, the one idea that sounded like a great first step was to start really writing about the topic. Obviously, since I’ve been blogging here for almost three years now, I love blogging and feel really excited about writing/blogging more on this topic I’m so passionate about.

So, what exactly is this topic and what is my new blog all about? Well, my blog’s subtitle is “creating your own way in work and life,” and I will be talking about how to do exactly that, with ideas on finding your way, staying on that path, and creating new possibilities, as well as discussing the challenges that come up when you’re trying to live this way. Hop on over and check out my first post or about page for more ideas.

This is very, very hot off the press—I just put up my first post earlier this morning—but I thought you guys would like to be the first to know! I will be adding lots of new stuff over there, and refining the blog over the next couple of weeks. Of course, I will still be blogging on this blog as well, and am excited to say that since I’m back with a good solid place to work, lots of new and exciting art things are on the way!

Happy weekend to you! and of course, Happy Creative Day!

****UPDATE as of September 2010: I’ve decided to discontinue my Possibility Path blog for a variety of reasons as explained in this post. If you are interested in the topics that I discussed there, please do continue to read this blog as I often discuss those very topics here! Thanks so much for your interest!

6 Responses to “A New Direction”


  1. 1 Kat September 3, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    It’s cool to start a new project isn’t it? And to see where it leads you. Interesting to read about your journey!

  2. 2 artproject2010 September 3, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    Oh, thank goodness! More help with direction! Hallelujah! I’m looking forward to it!

  3. 3 Miss Obvious September 3, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Oh, you make me miss my beach bike with a basket and bell I rode every day in Charleston! Bikes don’t go far in Atlanta. I just think your adorable, and we are in the same place, so I can’t wait to see where you go!
    http://buddhathepig.wordpress.com

  4. 4 Era September 4, 2010 at 6:24 am

    Wow! So exciting, I can’t wait to start reading!

  5. 5 Kerri September 4, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    I’m so excited about this! I’m heading over there right now!

  6. 6 Kerri September 4, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Hi Nicole! I was just over at Juliana’s blog http://www.shaktimama.wordpress.com and she is talking about living your wildest dreams too. Just letting you know in case you might like to join her sisterhood!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


