Handmade Birthday Fun

One wonderful thing about creativity is that the opportunity to use it is everywhere. You can really whip it out on any occasion, and one of my favorite times to use it is for gift-giving. My husband Mike’s birthday is coming up this week, and I sat down to add a little flair to his gift. I am giving him a subscription to this beautiful magazine/mountaineering journal called Alpinist, so I made a little subscription voucher, and a birthday card to hold it.

front of card

inside of card: a little silly spin on our mutual love of cake.

subscription card. I made some little slits so it can stick into the right side of the birthday card.

The subscription card was the most fun—I think it’s just hilarious to make handdrawn versions of documents that really exist.

This was a wonderful way to to spend a Sunday afternoon! I highly reccommend it! Happy making!

{Psst: one last thing, I’m finally moving into our new apartment this week, so I will hopefully be up and blogging from our new little place by the end of next week—see you then!}

1 Response to “Handmade Birthday Fun”


  1. 1 Kerri September 1, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    How lucky is Mike to get this gorgeous card! I absolutely love it! Hope he had a lovely day. My Dean just had his birthday too, but sadly for him he did not get a card as wonderful as this x


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


