Views from the Road {the wild west}

Hello from Colorado! We arrived at my parent’s house yesterday afternoon after four great days appreciating some lesser-known parts of the West, between California (our home) and Colorado (where my parents and sister live, and where I spent my teen years). Thanks to my mountain-loving, map-enthusiast husband, we were able to visit some really cool wild places that I’d never heard of. We went camping and hiking and even rock climbing! Here are some views from out little road trip:

A great summer snack: Mike eating a tomato from our garden at a road-side rest stop

Approaching the Ruby Mountains, near Elko, Nevada

Sunday morning in the Ruby Mountains—the view from our campsite

A view on our Sunday morning Ruby Mountain hike

Lily Lake in the Uinta Mountains, near Kamas, Utah

Mike rock climbing above Wall Lake, Uinta Mountains, Utah

Clouds over Colorado, and the lonely road

Now we’re in for more fun as we spend the next week and a half with my family here in Aspen, Colorado, with a weekend side trip to Boulder, CO for a friend’s wedding!

In just an hour or so, I’m off to go biking with my brother-in-law and two little nephews! I’ll be back with more pictures soon! Happy day to you!

2 Responses to “Views from the Road {the wild west}”


  1. 1 jaja August 4, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    oh my gosh, that last cloud picture took my breath away … literally, it’s amazing. i’m going to make it my new desktop (so long, andrew molinas state park picnic table!!)

  2. 2 Kerri August 10, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    Nicole, these pictures are so gorgeous! Wish I was on a road trip too!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


