Isn’t Life Hilarious? A funny story about quick changes

This is a view of my kitchen table this morning. Why all of the murky glassware? Because we’re moving! It’s time for that great fun adventure during which you have to face all of the random objects you’ve accumulated over the past several months or years, and somehow fit them into boxes. I mean, where does all the stuff come from?

Would you like to hear a funny story about my moving adventure? Really, it’s hilarious. I haven’t mentioned that we’re moving before because this was supposed to be a slow process—I was planning to spend the month of August slowly packing up parts of the house, and then we would make a simple cross-town move on September 1st. So, this past weekend, I started making some motions to clean up some old art supplies in our garage, that is, until I sat down to lunch and casually opened our move-out inspection notice from your rental property company. The notice listed July 31 as our move-out inspection date!

My first reaction was, “This must be a typo—we’re moving out on August 31!” Then something tightened in my chest, and a wave of suspicion came over me. I had this vague lurking memory of something weird about our move-out date. I immediately started searching through our files for a copy of our lease. Upon finding it, I discovered that the property company was right: our lease read, in bold, that we were due to move out July 31, 2010!

Of course during the hours after this discovery, and really still now, I keep thinking to myself, “Really!? This is crazy! How did we miss this?!” Both my husband and I have this vague memory of knowing this detail at some point, but we had been going around for the past several months calculating an August 31 move-out, which is the traditional move-out date for all rentals in this college town. We’ve lived in this house for three years, and I discovered that the first year’s lease did indeed end on August 31, but for some reason the second year-lease we signed (and therefore the third) was changed to ending on July 31. Sadly, we neglected to change the date in our brains.

Now that I’ve sufficiently bored you with the details, I will say that this change is really taking all of the patience and calmness I can muster! For the last few days (since the discovery), we have been frantically making arrangements to get out of here by the end of the month (carpet cleaning, storage unit, etc). The trickiest part is that, of course since we weren’t planning to move out on July 31, we have no place lined up to live until September 1.

We’ve come up with a pretty creative and silver-lined solution, if I might say so myself. We were planning all along to go on a 10 day road trip to Colorado at the beginning of August, to visit my family and go to a friend’s wedding. But when I realized this whole not having a place to live for the month of August problem, I thought, “wouldn’t it be great to be able to go on a longer vacation?” Since we won’t be paying our full rent during that month, it seemed even more feasible to take a little more time off of work. My husband has a pretty flexible schedule because he’s a graduate student, so it was just left to me to ask my part-time job if I could take 10 work days off, instead of 6—and they agreed!

So here we are: we may have to move out in under two weeks, but we do get to go on a two-week-long vacation! Now that is a silver lining! For the last two weeks of August we’ll quite thankfully be able to stay at a family member’s house in Sacramento, a neighboring city to our town. Well, there’s the latest from my home front—there’s a lot to do, but there’s a prize waiting at the end of it!

As far as my art shop, I would like to give you a heads-up that I will be closing up my shop while I’m gone, so if you’ve been thinking about ordering something special, you will want to do so by July 29. I will be closed from July 30-August 15. I might possibly open the shop back up earlier than that day for looks, but I won’t be back in town to ship orders until August 16.

I will be blogging and making as usually (hopefully), until the middle of next week, and possibly while on my trip! So stay tuned!

4 Responses to “Isn’t Life Hilarious? A funny story about quick changes”


  1. 1 Dawn July 21, 2010 at 9:22 am

    My goodness! That does sound like a crazy surprise! You have a great attitude though, and that vacation really does seem like a silver lining. You’ll need a vacation after all that packing!

  2. 2 Kerri July 21, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Oh that’s hideous! You poor thing! I hate moving with a passion. I’m so glad you’ve got a solution though! Good luck with the packing :)

  3. 3 Meghan July 28, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    yay for having a silver lining — how great to turn this into an adventure. moving’s such a pain, and it doesn’t get any easier with repetition. let me know your new address when you can — i owe you a letter!


  1. 1 Carving and Moving « blue bicicletta Trackback on July 27, 2010 at 9:05 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


