Carving Away: the mighty flyer in process

Well, the linocut mania continues over here! A couple of days ago, I found an old print I made (some years ago) in the bottom of my paper odds and ends bin:

I went gaga over the feathers, and immediately decided that I must do another linocut with this feather pattern. I thought of redoing this angel, but I got more excited about the idea of a bird, so here it goes:

I’m calling him “The Mighty Flyer” for he will have mighty wings. What fun it is to carve these blocks—I love the tactile aspect of the carved surface.

I’m very giddy these days with the spark of starting something new! Don’t you love that feeling? It’s a feeling of “anything’s possible.” Honestly, I feel that a lot of the time with any art-making, but it’s especially apparent when you’re starting to work in a new medium (and the new medium is working the way you want it to).

I must also confess though that I feel like I’m getting tennis elbow—this carving is more physical than drawing! I need to build up some carving muscles!

Well, I’m waiting for some new printing ink to arrive so it may be a few days before I can share my Mighty Flier in print, but he will come along soon!

Happy making!

1 Response to “Carving Away: the mighty flyer in process”


  1. 1 Kerri June 26, 2010 at 4:21 am

    Nicole, the angel is AMAZING! I absolutely love him! The bird looks gorgeous too, I can’t wait to see it printed! Oh I want to try this so bad even though I can’t draw!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


