A Little Bit of Narcissism

Remember the new t-shirts I’ve been working on—one of my first forays into screen printed wearable items for my shop? Well, I claimed one of said t-shirts for myself and have been wearing it around.

The first time I wore it last week, I was so bursting with excitement about having made a wearable piece of art, that I kept wanting to exclaim to people that I had printed the t-shirt. I did refrain from these outbursts, but it didn’t stop me from constantly exclaiming the fact to myself. So, here’s a little bit of good-ole-fashioned narcissism for you today—me sporting my new bicycle shirt:

I will be bringing my “practice” t-shirts to their first craft show this coming weekend (Sacramento 2nd Saturday at McMartin Realty—see my sidebar to your right for details), and will be putting them up for sale for just $5 each. Some are nearly perfect, some are really not, but I’m putting them all out there because, why not? After many trials, I realized that part of the trouble I was having was from printing over the side seam of women’s t-shirts, which made the ink go on unevenly. I like the idea of continuing to use thrifted t-shirts (so many colors and varieties–each one is really unique, and upcycled!), so I’m going to start looking for women’s shirts without seams, or lighter fabric shirts that don’t have such a thick seam. Strangely, most men’s shirts do not have a side seam, so they were much easier to print! Mike and I deduced that this must be because they try to create more of a shape in women’s shirts, as opposed to the tube-like nature of men’s shirts.

Here’s a closeup of my super bike shirt:

I’m hoping to get printing again later this month and have some of these bike shirts (and hopefully others) for sale in my online shop later this summer, so stay tuned!

7 Responses to “A Little Bit of Narcissism”


  1. 1 jaja June 10, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    hahaha i LOVE the idea of you wanting to tell EVERYONE that you made that shirt. YOU SHOUUUUUUUUUULD IT’S AMAZING!!

  2. 2 brian June 10, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    Nice design , the wheel spokes look fine.

  3. 3 amy June 13, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    loving this shirt!! i’m sure some folks will be asking you very soon just who made it b/c it’s rad :)

  4. 4 Kerri June 14, 2010 at 1:56 am

    Your t-shirt is fantastic! I always feel happy wearing a shirt with my design on it too! Hey, your printing looks great! Thin lines are so hard to print but your spokes look amazing! Great job!

  5. 5 Kerri June 14, 2010 at 1:57 am

    P.S I think $5 is too cheap! Maybe just charge that for the non perfect ones!

    • 6 bluebicicletta June 15, 2010 at 8:06 am

      Thanks Kerri! And in response to the $5—I’m only charging $5 for the first batch of practice T-shirts. Soon, once I get my printing technique down, I will settle in at a regular price. I may always have a $5 bin for misprints.


  1. 1 A Block Printing Adventure « blue bicicletta Trackback on June 21, 2010 at 10:24 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 341 other followers

Archives


