Random Bits of Inspiration

Hello Hello! Happy day to you! I confess I haven’t been so active on the blog lately, but I promise this does not mean that I haven’t been making art or being inspired. Sometimes life happens, and then there is less time to blog about life happening. Here are some things I’ve been inspired by lately (for all five senses!):

See: The World’s Fastest Indian. We watched this movie last night (on recommendation from my father-in-law) and it filled me up with inspired dream energy. This is a movie based on a true story about a man who’s dream it was to run his Indian Scout motorcycle on the Bonneville Salt Flats in Utah (and see how fast his bike could really go with hopes of breaking a land speed record). He is absolutely driven by this dream and won’t give up. It makes me think so much about how a dream can really make your life into an adventure and can drive you to really live.

Here’s one of my favorite moments about living your dreams in the movie. Burt (the leading man), is about to leave his home in New Zealand to go to Bonneville, and he’s talking with his next door neighbor boy, a little boy who looks up to him:

Hear: Wind in the trees. Oh, I’ve been hearing so much wind in the trees outside my window these days. I think it is my favorite sound in the world.

Taste: Vanilla ice cream with fresh strawberries. Mike and I walked to the grocery store late the other night to procure this dessert after many hours of contemplating our sweet tooth (and whether or not we should give into it). It was definitely the right choice. We sat out in our backyard in the warm dark and fell in love with this sweet summer dessert.

Smell: Burning wood. It may seem like a strange smell to associate with summer, but for some reason often it smells like sweet burning wood here the summer. There’s a lot of farmland around, so I think the smell might be coming from controlled burns on farms. The sweet smoky smell reminds me of southern Italy where my dad is from, and gives me a little twinge of vacations past.

Touch: A New Earth by Eckhart Tolle. This book has become so popular lately, but it is one of those books that, upon picking it up, completely lives up to the hype (at least for me). If you’ve been reading this blog over the past months or years, you will know that I often struggle with my monkey brain (you know, all of those crazy thoughts that take me/you for a ride). This book deals with exactly that—it helps you see your way beyond the thoughts. Tolle brings together ideas I’ve seen in a lot of other places (other books, philosophies, and major religions), but largely the book is just giving me a new way of seeing and interacting with my life.

Also, you may know that Oprah really got into this book—she picked it as one of her book club books, and also did a 10-week online discussion class with Tolle. The online discussion is really cool because it shows people from all over the world asking questions about the book, which can be a great way to see what it’s all about. Check out the classes {completely free}here. Thank you Oprah—you are truly a force of nature. Perhaps the book is not for everyone—it’s pretty philosophical, but if you’ve been struggling like me (and searching for peace), this book can help.

What’s inspiring you these days? Hope you have a wonder-filled, peaceful day!

1 Response to “Random Bits of Inspiration”


  1. 1 Kerri June 10, 2010 at 2:45 am

    Oh the world’s fastest indian! A bit of home for me! Could you understand their accents?! It’s a great film, I really liked it too. As for Mr Tolle’s book, it sounds wonderful! I must look it up. Bless Oprah.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


