Back from the Coast

We had the most fantastic weather all weekend for our little trip to the Point Reyes National Seashore! Sunshine, cool breezes, and a shimmering ocean! The picture above is the view from Arch Rock, the ending point for a hike we took on Sunday. It was a brilliant sunny day, and we enjoyed lunch with this view.

The complete truth of the story though, that you don’t see in this photograph is: 1. there’s a crowd of people behind me (Arch Rock is quite popular), and 2. after this lunch we decided to return a different way than we came, and ended up tromping up and down on a tiny forest ridge trail for what seemed like an eternity to me. My brain went into super-over-drive complaining mode—something I’m really not proud of, but I am learning to at least be aware of this tendency.

Does this ever happen to you? Perhaps not. But I find that I often get into mind ruts on vacation—I think my expectations will be so high for a calm and beautiful time that my brain just can’t compute any frustration or difficulty.

Nevertheless, it was darn near impossible to avoid being awed and calmed by the sight of this:

And despite my mental whining for parts of the weekend, I breathed in much ocean, sun, and the scent of Eucalyptus trees. It was gorgeous. I love the coast and am so happy to have spent a lovely weekend there with Mike.

Back to work it is now! There’s lots of art to be done! Happy Tuesday!

1 Response to “Back from the Coast”


  1. 1 amy June 1, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    we just went to california too. wow does this spot ever look beautiful… am bookmarking!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


