In Search of a Poem

OK, so I’ve been slacking on my weekly poetry podcasts {you know, the little podcasts I’ve been making of me reading my favorite poems and talking about them}. I could make many excuses for why I don’t have a podcast for you again this week {like my allergies that would make me sure to sniffle all the way through, or being busy with some commissioned drawings I’m working on} but truthfully, I just haven’t been reading a lot of poetry these past few weeks.

When I’m not reading poetry, it’s hard to come to you with an inspired poetry podcast, so I’m opting to wait until more inspiration hits. I seem to go through phases where I’m really into poetry, and then other phases where I’m not, so I can’t guarantee when the next podcast will be, but you can be sure that I will be back with another podcast the next time I find a poem that cries out to me to be shared; and this is bound to happen.

I do have a little poetry for you today though! I was perusing some books in search of a poem, and I found the following by Mary Oliver. Enjoy and have a wonderful creative day and weekend! Happy Mother’s Day to all of you moms!

“I do not want to be frisky, and theatrical.
I do not want to go forward in the parade of names.
I do not want to be diligent or necessary or in any way
      heavy.

From my mouth to God’s ear, I swear it; I want only
      to be a song.

To wander around in the fields like a little reed bird.

To be a song.”

{section 2 of the poem “The Return” by Mary Oliver. Part of the collection What Do We Know}

2 Responses to “In Search of a Poem”


  1. 1 Clara May 9, 2010 at 7:44 am

    This is a perfect poem for how I feel today. Mary Oliver is a gift, isn’t she? You can dip anywhere into her work and find perfection.

  2. 2 Kerri May 10, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    Oh I love this! I want to be a song too!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 340 other followers

Archives


