An Interview on Nuok, a Handmade Sweater, and Other Randomness

Hello hello! No poetry podcast this week—I was not able to get myself in gear to do one, and also I had some other things I wanted to share with you!

Firstly: An interview with me is being featured on Nuok, and Italian/Italian-American website all about creatives and New York. How do I fit in with the New York theme? The answer is: loosely—actually I’m originally from the east coast (born and had part of my childhood there)—a part of Connecticut near New York. Mainly, I’m Italian-American, and so it was a fun interview because I got to talk a little about my love of Italy and of course, a lot about art. Here’s a peek at the interview (click on the image below to read it)! Thanks Fran for asking me to take part!

Secondly: I received the mostly lovely lovely lovely handmade item in the mail yesterday, made by my wonderful grandma!

Wow, holy gorgeous, amazing sweater! The buttons were handmade also by someone my grandma knows! I’m wearing it right now in fact—fits perfectly! My grandma has always made knit items and made me sweaters when I was a kid, but this is the first sweater I’ve gotten in a long time, and I realize that I appreciate it on a whole other level now that I’m an adult and often thinking about buying handmade.

Thirdly: Have you happened to notice that I am making bucket-loads of art lately? Well, I have, and it’s wonderful! Wanna know why?

Well, a couple of weeks ago I started thinking about priorities and realized that I was not prioritizing art-making, but instead prioritizing the business part of my art. Hmm. this seemed like the wrong way to go about things, since art-making is the reason behind the whole business! So now I’ve started to make it a point to spend the first 2 hours of my day making. It really helps to put it first so I don’t get sucked in to the internets or some other business thing. Since I’ve made this switch, voila—much more art has appeared!! I am doing less business, but most things (the most important things) are getting done.

I think it’s really interesting to review your priorities once and a while and see if you are really putting what you love first! If you aren’t doing the part you love, then what’s the point? I know that there will still be times when business has to take priority, but I also know that most of the time it really does not need to. Happy Friday!

5 Responses to “An Interview on Nuok, a Handmade Sweater, and Other Randomness”


  1. 1 sami Alam April 9, 2010 at 10:21 am

    it was one of the wonderful post i’ve seen…
    outstanding balance of stuffzz….
    Amazing work….

    Visit mine and plz plz plz post your comments…

    Thank you…i’ll b in touch….

  2. 2 Pica April 9, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    a) congratulations! b) congratulations, that’s a gorgeous sweater! c) congratulations, yay for getting your priorities sorted!

  3. 3 rachel awes April 10, 2010 at 2:43 am

    i sooo appreciate your comments about priorities & relate!! such a great reminder. & what a gorgeous sweater! it is so fun to visit you here again! (i am LOVING your animal creations below!!). xo

  4. 4 Era April 10, 2010 at 4:24 am

    Wowee! I want a sweater from your grandma too!

    And congrats on prioritizing. I’ve been thinking about that lately as well . . .

  5. 5 Geoff M. Pope April 14, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    Nuokoooool!

    I really liked your answer to “Where do you get your inspiration from?”

    “My inspiration comes from all around. If I’ve learned one thing over the past couple of years, it’s that art leads to more art: the more you make, the more ideas and inspiration you get. I get a lot of my ideas while walking or biking around my hometown, Davis, California. I’m inspired by many things: nature, food, words, language, simple shapes, everyday life, and the list goes on.”

    Your words inspire me to get up early again tomorrow morning to fog walk along the Cedar River before the sunrise awakens maybe that same blue heron.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


