Triangle Dream

What is the difference between a prayer and a dream? Hmmm. An interesting question. After my Triangle Prayer drawing the other day, I sat down to draw another, but found myself thinking Triangle Dream the entire time while drawing, and so it is:

“Triangle Dream,” 5 x 7 inches, pen and ink, available here in my shop.

I am tempted to pull out the old dictionary.

And so I will: From Oxford:

prayer: 1. a solemn request or thanksgiving to God or an object of worship. 2. An entreaty to a person or a thing entreated or prayed for.

dream: 1. a series of pictures or events in the mind of a sleeping person. 2. a daydream or fantasy. 3. an ideal, aspiration, or ambition.

Perhaps I have linked the two concepts in my head more than they ought to be, but maybe a dream is the thing you are conjuring up in your head, and the prayer is the actual asking for it. In that sense, they are two parts of the same process, although I think far too many people stop at the dreaming stage.

I have learned (and learned again and again and again) through this art life of mine, that you must ASK. ASK for what you want—ask the universe, ask a stranger, ask your mother, ask yourself. Ask anyone, just ASK. Put it out there as more than just a dream, but as something you would really love to create or have. You never know what might happen! Of course, after the ask, comes the do. Doing, perhaps is even more important than asking. Doing is the answer to the question.

Well, there is my motivational philosophizing for today.

I also like to think of this drawing as a triangle dreaming. That really amuses me.

1 Response to “Triangle Dream”


  1. 1 artproject2010 March 30, 2010 at 8:56 am

    The idea of a triangle dream is really amusing. I love that you use your dictionary. I collect dictionaries, and often find the meanings of words to be fascinating. Plus, when it comes down to it, prayers/dreams are very similar in how they are experienced. It’s all perception anyway, right? Rad!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


