In Just- spring: poetry podcast #13

Hello Hello
I made a new poetry podcast for you today—one of my long-time favorite E.E. Cummings poems! Thanks Geoff for reminding me of it after my last poetry podcast!

Here it goes:

Click the arrow below to listen:

Here’s the text of “In Just-

One thing I would like to add to what I said in the podcast is how I think that the way Cummings runs the names together (eddieandbill bettyandisbel) imitates speech—we would say the names run together, as if they were one word. I’ve noticed Cummings doing this a lot, especially in poems like “logeorge.” I can’t find a link to this poem online, and the spacing is very complicated, so I am not able to type it up so lickety-split here, but if you have a Cummings collection, check out the poem under the first line “logeorge.” It is a wonderful poem about everyday speech!

{Listen to previous poetry podcasts}

3 Responses to “In Just- spring: poetry podcast #13”


  1. 1 Geoff M. Pope March 19, 2010 at 11:45 am

    I really like your paper-poked (I almost wrote “pocked”) “a poem” with the contrasting grainy-brown wooden background setting — simpl-yep-erfect.

    And thankusomuch for the ackNicoledgement for the e.e. s)p(ring)oem you chose and spoke about so unselfconsciously. I had forgotten how much the lines spread and skip around and that “mud- / luscious” is separated, unlike those fastfriended clinging-eachtoeach kids – I mean children.

    And guess what I found? — “logeorge” online in *Dreams in the Mirror: A Biography of E.E. Cummings* by Richard S. Kennedy. In Google books, the URL was superlong, so I snipped it here: http://geoffpope.com/logeorge__e.e.cummings.JPG

    As for that mysterious “far and wee” character, I like what Dulles had to write here:

    Discussion of this poem always seems to center on a movement toward evil (pan/satyr/goatMan/etc…), a loss of childhood; but to me, it seems to be a movement in the other direction. A celebration of Spring (hope and joy to come) and out of Winter (cold and depressed). The goatMan is always “far and wee”, never moving closer (unless we consider next winter). The carefree awakening of new life is evidenced by bettyandisbel playing hopscotch (see the (spacing of the) stanzas below) in spite of the whistleing balloonMan. (skip skip jump jump jump)

    Source: http://www.americanpoems.com/poets/eecummings/11924/comments/4

    But I’m still wondering why cummings shifted from “balloonman” to “balloonMan.” Maybe this balloon man knows: http://thebadplus.typepad.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/04/16/balloon_man_crosley.jpg

    Maybe not. But one thing is for sure: S P R I N G is back!

    Gettin’ mee weekend toes ready for some mountainbikin’,

    Geoff

  2. 2 Meghan March 20, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    nicole, i LOVE that poem! it’s so funny you posted it, because i’ve been kicking it around in my head for a couple of weeks with the idea of designing some sort of embroidery around it.

  3. 3 B. March 24, 2010 at 2:36 am

    Loved it. Thanks for posting. I loved “puddle-wonderful.” That will definitely stick with me. B.


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

Archives


