A Million Little Pieces

I’m just getting caught up and into my new schedule with my new day job. Today is my first day working what will become my normal schedule: art in the mornings and my courier job in the afternoons. I have to say, working for the past couple of hours on art has been quite a relief. I noticed a bit of calm setting in after a few weeks of scrambling around. Ah, it feels good to get to some of the work that had started to build up. That brings me to my million little pieces:

Do you remember back in January when I mentioned I am doing the Starving Artist Project? Well, I haven’t forgotten, and submissions for the project (a competition where the winning artist will receive $2,000 to use for creative pursuits) are due at the beginning of April, so I’ve been plugging along on mine. The size requirements for submissions are pretty strict—2-dimensional works must fit inside an 8x10x2 inch square, so I decided to do 6 little drawings and sew them together into one piece. Of course, my love of triangles came up, and the final idea I settled on is a progression of triangle-based shapes. The piece is also supposed to say something about you and your art, so I’m narrating the drawings with words below.

One hazard of they type of pen and ink drawing I do is that there’s little room for error—wrong marks are hard to cover up. So, I have been drawing and re-drawing these little illustrations, adding up to a million little pieces of art.

In the end, there will be six little drawings. I’ll definitely be back with pictures of the final piece when it’s done. For now, I’ll leave you in suspense. The title of the piece is “This is Me in the Shape of a Triangle.” I know I’m on the right track for me personally, when the title and the idea of the piece make me giggle inside, and that is definitely true here! Happy creative day!

1 Response to “A Million Little Pieces”


  1. 1 linda March 16, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Wow, what a contest…although I don’t like that it’s called starving artist project, especially after Marisa from Creative Thursday’s idea of thriving instead of starving artist! Good luck to you and happy creating! I hope your new schedule works out!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 345 other followers

Archives


