Work Work

I’ve been working at my day job a lot this week because my boss is out of town. This has most definitely made me remember how hard it is to work full-time and still make time for art. I find that I just want to do absolutely nothing when I get home from work in the evening—essentially, I have to beg, borrow, and plead with myself to get anything accomplished. I have been a bit more successful at sneaking in a little art time before work, but the little bit of time vanishes so quickly. I have much respect for all of you balancing this long-term—in fact, for anyone balancing the day job with the art life, I can’t say it any better than this quote Kerri of Songs of Light posted today. It is so right on. Thanks Kerri!

As for my art, I managed to squeeze this in yesterday morning:

“Triangle Weave,” 5 x 5 inches, pen and ink

In addition to drawing and keeping my business going, I’ve been terrorizing my husband with my lack-of-time frustrations, and also been dealing with a car settlement: I was rear-ended a couple of weeks ago (no injuries, thankfully), and my car was declared a total loss by the insurance company, even though it still drives just fine. Dealing with the insurance company has felt like a third part-time job, and I’ll be glad when it’s over.

Ah, life. So many silly little things take up our time. Sometimes the best moments are when I’m walking from car to office, office to bike, and I get to see the robins darting from ground to tree.

3 Responses to “Work Work”


  1. 1 Mike McLaren March 10, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Perhaps when the insurance debacle is over, more free time will suddenly appear out of nowhere.

  2. 2 linda March 10, 2010 at 10:25 am

    It’s definitely not easy to juggle it all…I think sometimes you just have to tell yourself it’s okay to not be able to do it all. BTW, those little moments of carefree-ness, enjoy them to the fullest! :P

  3. 3 Kerri March 10, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Oh I’m so glad those words help you too. And I’m sorry that you’re having such a hard time at the moment. I’m kind of having a different problem. Now that I only work 20 hours a week I spend so much of my time worrying or feeling guilty that I haven’t found another full time job! I should be using more of my time for art while I can!


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 341 other followers

Archives


