Now I Lay (E.E. Cummings): poetry podcast #12

Hello poetry people! I’m back with another poetry podcast from the Great E.E.!

Sadly, no picture to go with it—my podcast posts have been light on pictures lately! But there is poetry as promised. This is a short one, but I command you to go forth and read the poem for yourself afterwards>> I have typed it up below!

Listen to the podcast:

Also, here’s the former poetry podcast I did of another E.E. Cummings poem.

Here’s the poem from today’s podcast in written form:

Now i lay(with everywhere around)
me(the great dim deep sound
of rain;and of always and of nowhere)and

what a gently welcoming darkestness—

now i lay me down(in a most steep
more than music)feeling that sunlight is
(life and day are)only loaned:whereas
night is given(night and death and the rain

are given;and given is how beautifully snow)

now i lay me down to dream of(nothing
i or any somebody or you
can begin to begin to imagine)

something which nobody may keep.
now i lay me down to dream of Spring

–E.E. Cummings
(from Selected Poems edited by Kennedy)

{Listen to previous podcasts}

6 Responses to “Now I Lay (E.E. Cummings): poetry podcast #12”


  1. 1 Kerri March 7, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    Isn’t he wonderful? I love the way he used words in such unusual groupings.

  2. 2 Geoff M. Pope March 7, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    “mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful”! —
    to quote from another spring poem by
    the creative.e. cummingsingsingsings!

  3. 3 Justin March 7, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Such a rush a rhetoric!

    Dim dreams score the dark with beams of becoming.

  4. 4 M Claire VanOrsdal March 6, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    does anyone else see that there’s one poem/part outside the parentheses and another inside the parentheses?? i love it!


  1. 1 In Just- spring: poetry podcast #13 « blue bicicletta Trackback on March 19, 2010 at 8:05 am

Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 344 other followers

Archives


