Kreativ Blogger Award

This weekend, I received a Kreative Blogger Award from the lovely Victoria! Yay! Having received the award, I am due to report seven interesting things about myself and pass the award onto seven more creative bloggers that I love!

Here it goes, seven interesting things about me!

1. I love, love, love tomatoes. In the summer, I can eat a heaping bowl of tomato salad every day of the week.

2. I did my 6th grade year of school in Italy (in Italian public school). At the beginning of the year, I didn’t speak any Italian and none of the other kids spoke more than a few words of English. I spent the first month or so flipping through and Italian-English dictionary and wondering what everyone was talking about. It was one of the hardest, most life-changing years of my childhood. By the end of it, I was nearly bi-lingual, although my Italian suffers now from lack of practice.

3. I like to wear uniforms. I worked at a catering company in college, and I actually enjoyed wearing the black pants, dress shirt, bow tie, vest and apron. I remember thinking how our staff went from looking like a crack-squad of sloppy college kids to a sleek-looking team, when we would get dressed for the shift.

4. I am half Italian and half Polish, although the Italian side is much more prominent in my cultural life (see fact #2)

5. I take showers at night. This signals to my brain that it’s nearing time to go to sleep. (My husband showers at night too!)

6. I have read the book Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen too many times to count. Whenever I need a good slow and suspenseful love story, I crack it open again. I just can’t get enough of those small witty, flirty moments between Elizabeth and Darcy.

7. I love salad—no dinner feels complete without it. When I was little, my dad would say, “Salad is the broom of the body.” My dad is Italian, and we have always eaten salad at the end of every meal. I have continued that tradition, and now my husband and I eat salad pretty much every single night. Our old standby is a cabbage salad with olive oil and balsamic vinegar dressing. Delicious and nutritious!

I am passing this award onto these wonderful creative bloggers!

1. Kerri from Songs of Light, because I gasp every time I visit her blog—she truly does sing songs of light!

2. E.R.R.A.N.T, because Era is always up to some wonderful creative project that delights and inspires.

3. Geoff Pope, because he loves poetry as much as I do, and writes gorgeous poems. He even emails and leaves comments as poems!

4. Mike from Annotated Margins because he is full of insight—you are sure not to leave his blog without thinking many new thoughts.

5. Jaja from For Keeps, because she makes magic by putting photos and poetry together, and she is always finding something interesting on the internets!

6. Rachel from All I Did Was Listen because she is listening, and she makes beautiful drawings that make my heart happy.

7. Marianne from Art Project 2010, because she continues to astound me by making amazing art every single day as part of her vow to make a piece of art every day of this year, and she blogs about it with great humor and insight.

Those who receive the award from me should:

A: Copy the award to your blog!
B: Link to the person who gave you the award!
C: Write 7 interesting things about yourself!
D: Chose 7 other blogs to give this award to!
E: Link to their blogs!
F: Leave them a comment saying you have given them an award!

10 Responses to “Kreativ Blogger Award”


  1. 1 rachel awes March 1, 2010 at 10:05 am

    oh my heavens!thank you sooooo bloggy much! & it has also been fun to look up the other great bloggers you mentioned! oh dear one, i would love to do the whole list of things of links and such…i am burried in my to-do list right now. i HOPE to get to this. it is an inspired idea!! your art and being makes me happy too. lol.

  2. 2 Becky March 1, 2010 at 10:15 am

    Your salad on Saturday was AMAZING!!! I’ve never thought of eating it last… but I just might try that!! I LOVE Salad!! And Congrats on your award!!

  3. 3 Geoff M. Pope March 1, 2010 at 10:20 am

    What an bloghonor! And to receive such
    a bluebullient award on a Monday? Yay!

    I am, however, a little envious that
    my name is not Geoff Awes. ; ) Anyway,
    might you, Nicolecletic, have an image
    that I could use for my “Alphabet Pilot”: http://geoffpopepoetry.blogspot.com/ ?

    If not, maybe you could direct me to one.

  4. 4 Victoria March 1, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    Oh my I’ve only read Pride & Prejudice once but that was enough to last me a lifetime. I’ve always admired people who can read the same books over and over again. Very impressive!

    How lovely to discover new blogs – I especially like All I Did Was Listen. Her drawings make my heart smile too :)

  5. 5 jaja March 1, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee what an honor!!! thank you so much!! i wish i could just give it right back!

  6. 6 artproject2010 March 1, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    What an honor! It’s awesome that you got this award, and it’s wonderful that you’ve passed it on to me! I’ll be checking out the other blogs you mentioned and returning the favor by posting about this and “paying it forward”. ;) Still a little under the weather so I’ll be getting around to that pretty soon. I’m bummed that I missed your salad. :(

    Marianne

  7. 7 Kerri March 2, 2010 at 2:05 am

    Oh Yay! Thanks so much for including me! Will get on to it in the next few days.

  8. 8 Justin Kelley March 2, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Hey Nicole… thanks for sharing. I was thinking about you the other day. I am on my way back from India now and will most likely be in CA this summer. Would be great to see you. Please give my best to Mike.

    Any trips back east planned?

    Justin

  9. 9 Justin Kelley March 2, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Also… you triangle drawings are wonderful… keep them coming.

  10. 10 Geoff M. Pope March 2, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Dear Mrs. Docimotomato!

    In case you have not read Neruda’s “Oda al Tomate” —

    Here are links to the Spanish and an English translation:

    http://oldpoetry.com/opoem/97399-Pablo-Neruda-Oda-al-Tomate

    http://oldpoetry.com/opoem/97401-Pablo-Neruda-Ode-to-Tomatoes

    Geopeppers


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 341 other followers

Archives