A Nestled Three, in Triangles

Here’s where my latest triangle musings have gotten me:

“A Nestled Three, in Triangles,” 8 x 10 inches, pen and ink, original available in my shop.

Ooh, this drawing was fun—the most fun was when the different circles collided, and figuring out how to navigate the collisions. In the end, it was not a “collision” at all, but rather a “nestling” as I am calling it. You may have noticed that I love drawing in threes (check out my other drawings “Trio,” “Three,” and “Geometric Wandering” if you want some proof)! Three is the perfect number—just the right balance, and an odd number to keep it interesting.

I like this drawing quite a lot, so I might also offer it in print or notecard form. What do you think? Put in your vote for this drawing being offered in my shop as either print, or card, or both, or any other idea you have. Normally, I just offer my abstract drawings as originals because they’re a little less “mainstream.”

On quite another note, I just wanted to share that I started a new part-time job today—you know, the one I said I was looking for in order to bring in some extra dollars to our household (keep that electricity on and our bellies full). Well, I think it’s going to be a pretty good fit! It’s a short bike ride from my house, it’s mainly in the afternoons (allowing morning time for art), and the job itself has lots of movement—I’m a courier for the city, so I get to bop around town delivering mail to various departments. Another part of my job is doing copy jobs and mailings, which is a little more hands-on (instead of being chained to a desk).

This first week, I will be working more hours to get trained, and then I’ll be filling in for my boss when she goes on vacation, so the next three weeks will be a little experimental as far as time for art, but I will most definitely be visiting with you here on the blog and finding time wherever I can to make make make. Happy making to you all!

10 Responses to “A Nestled Three, in Triangles”


  1. 1 Mike McLaren February 22, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    I love geometric drawings. This is wonderful. It looks tough to draw.

  2. 2 linda February 23, 2010 at 12:23 am

    Wow, it’s lovely to see the progression of your triangle drawings…step by step and now it’s getting to be interestingly organic looking even with the scientific-ish triangle shape….hmm! I’m not sure if you are open to adding subtle color, but it could be a cool print for cards!

    Congrats on your new part-time job and good luck as well. I think it’s great to mix up your day, besides getting the extra cash! Is it courier on a bike? Because that would be cool..ahah…my crazy thoughts!

  3. 3 Victoria February 23, 2010 at 6:49 am

    I love this one! It make a stunning and puzzling print which I for one would love having on my wall! Not to sure about the card though..

  4. 4 Jenny February 23, 2010 at 9:48 am

    I love this image, Nicole. It makes me smile to look at it.

    Thanks for being so honest and authentic about the life of an artist. Your openness is so refreshing. And I love that you got a job that’s a good fit for you!

  5. 5 jaja February 23, 2010 at 10:47 am

    riding a bike to work and riding a bike during work!! in beautiful sunny davis! what a steal of a find!! congrats :)

  6. 6 Kerri February 23, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    Yay for the job! And yay for your picture too!

  7. 7 bluebicicletta February 23, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Thanks so much for your kind words everyone! I’m glad you enjoyed this drawing! Also to clarify, at my courier job I use a car to get around, not a bike. It would be great on a bike, except for rainy days like today, but it might prove challenging with large amounts of mail and would take quite a bit longer. I drive a Prius though, so it’s a bit more environmentally friendly. Today was my first day driving the courier route, and it was a little challenging to learn how to drive the Prius (it’s a bit different than other cars and a new car to me anyway), remember many little things on the route, and be watched by my supervisor. Alas, I made it through!

  8. 8 rachel awes February 24, 2010 at 6:14 am

    what an inspired nestled 3! the motion that gets going visually is amazing! here’s to triangles!!

  9. 9 Clara February 24, 2010 at 9:17 am

    Wonderful drawing! And congratulations on your new job. Sounds like a perfect job for letting you keep a strong focus on your art.

  10. 10 erasmith February 27, 2010 at 11:19 am

    Wow, a company car!? I love that, and what a perfect fit for you – I can see you bringing your camera and pulling over every so often to take pictures along the way!

    I think this print would be great as a large-scale print, or as a card – perhaps you could print it in three different colors with three different colors of envelope?


Leave a Reply

Hello there! My name is Nicole K. Docimo, and I am an artist and writer from the U.S.A. but currently residing in Zurich, Switzerand. Thank you for visiting my blog!

Some Thoughts

"Be thirsty for the ultimate water,
and then be ready for what will
come pouring from the spring."
~Rumi

{from "Joy at Sudden Disappointment"
translated by C. Barks.}

~This Work ~

Unless otherwise noted, all images and writings on this blog were created by me, Nicole K. Docimo aka Blue Bicicletta. If you would like to share anything you see here for inspirational purposes online, I just ask that you kindly let folks know where you found it. If you are wanting to share/reproduce any of my work in any other way, or have any questions about how you will be sharing the work in relation to copyright, please contact me directly at nkdocimo {at} gmail {dot} com. Thanks!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 343 other followers

Archives


